We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best college I have stayed at in Oxford”
Review of Keble College

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keble College
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The best college I have stayed at in Oxford”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I had a spotlessly clean and spacious room overlooking a wonderful large quadrangle. It was quiet and comfortable. The porter's lodge was welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was well cooked, hot and promptly served. The location of Keble is convenient. What more can one wish for?

Certainly it was better than several colleges where I have been given a room in a noisy spot and the food has been indifferent, or where the bed has been very elderly. On these occasions I have felt sorry for the poor student shortly to inhabit the room on a more permanent basis!

Considering the huge amounts that Oxford hotels seem to feel entitled to charge, Keble is very good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontpellierOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    108
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
66
64
44
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Keble College. I had a Superior ensuite room and compared to other places I have stayed at in England, the room was enormous! I felt that I could really spread out and relax there. The room is really basic, but that didn't matter. The best part about staying here is that you get to eat breakfast in the Hall. I was in England for 3 weeks and eating in the Hall was one of my most memorable experiences. I highly recommend staying here. The room was very good value for my money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teeb1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My daughter and I stayed in Keble College for one week and loved it. It was a bit out of town, but that made it quite. Along the route, we passed a nightly showing of Macbeth, Comedy of Errors and The Importance of Being Ernest, which we had to stop and see. One night we were allowed to have a fantastic meal in the spectactular dining hall. Perhaps the best meal we had in Oxford. Because it was a student dorm, the rooms and halls were quite spare, but also clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: floors are walk-up and quite spare and dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPMDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

It all depends what you are looking for. If it's luxury, then forget it; if it's up-to-the-minute decor and all mod cons - look elsewhere. The publicity is honest - you don't get TV, you don't get a trouser press. What you do get is a student bedsit. In my case it was in the older part of college, rather than the more recent buildings, and the college itself describes these rooms as 'homely' - where 'tired' might be more accurate. As a single room it was a good size, with ensuite; but the windows wouldn't stay open, and the fabric on the desk seat was very worn. The bed was OK. The room was, however, spotlessly clean, and well serviced.

I was an undergraduate at this University, though not at Keble, so the experience of breakfast in hall (and Keble has a very large hall indeed) had reminiscence value (ah, the soggy toast of yesteryear!), rather than the strikingly novel impression it clearly made on many of those staying there (a mixture of summer schools, conference and B&B guests). Service was very attentive, and the breakfast decent value for money.

The cost was very reasonable (for Oxford) at £60 per night, and though Keble is in many ways an oddity amongst the colleges, being relatively recent (not even 200 years old), and built of patterned brick not Cotswold stone. It is at the northern end of the university, but in easy walking distance of everything you might want to see.

Room Tip: The newer buildings are probably in a better state than the older - but have less atmosphere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKDavidL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed in a family room, which consisted of two bedrooms joined by a small entry area and a bathroom, situated in the older section of the buildings overlooking the quad area. The rooms are basic, but clean with comfortable beds, the family room also had a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. The hop on hop off bus route goes right past the door, which was handy, Keble is also situated only a short walk from the city centre. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Keble.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older section
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nearly-Fifty1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I stayed at Keble College with my two daughters (23 & 21) and wish we had discovered it when we first stayed in Oxford. It felt such a perfect base in this wonderful historic city. Instead of returning to a hotel at the end of our sightseeing & punting on the river we had the fabulous experience of actually staying in this beautiful college. Then to have a delicious cooked breakfast in the college dining room (Harry Potter style) really was out of this world!!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank glen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Really wonderful location. It really is like a fairy tale location. You may be housed in the new wing, but if so don't worry as these rooms are still good. My only complaint was the food. Great quantity, but not great on the quantity. Would stay here again though.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Radioheadkiduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keble College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keble College

Property: Keble College
Address: Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keble College, founded in 1870, is one of Oxfords architectural landmarks located in the heart of the City.Venture behind the college walls and stay as a bed and breakfast guest at Keble. Discover stunning tranquil quads and inspiring architecture whilst staying in a comfortable study bedroom.All bedrooms include tea and coffee making facilities, towels, toiletries and free WiFi points. Bedrooms are serviced daily. To complete your college experience, relax and enjoy a cooked or continental breakfast served in our magnificent Gothic dining hall, Oxford's longest Hall, before setting off to explore Oxford's City Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keble College Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing