We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice!”

Loch Fyne Restaurant
Ranked #104 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A great choice!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Hosted a sizeable family celebration last Monday afternoon. The restaurant was understandably very quiet but all in all we had a very enjoyable experience. Service was very good as was the waitresses very dry humour. We started to get it after the first drink! The only disappointment was that there was no lobster and only one crab. Not great if you specialise in seafood. Despite this very much enjoyed the afternoon which proved to be entertaining and very good value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1879fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    140
    75
    55
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Oxford”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Typical Loch Fyne seafood - never had a bad oyster, crab or lobster here in 20 years - and right in the heart of fashionable Jericho.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Markodebono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Superb food in a brilliant area”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Fantastic service, top quality seafood, incredible value. We had been to the adjacent art house cinema - the Phoenix Picturehouse - to see a film that wasn't showing locally to us and after the film we wanted to have a small meal over which to discuss the film. Loch Fyne was near enough next door and it really was fabulous. We had a starter, main course, side dish and glass of wine for only £14.95 and it was faultless. Staff were brilliant and food amazing. Good work Loch Fyne!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Staff - one mature last was very pleasant. One young lady was sulky and rude and should be sacked.

Wine - fine

Interior - lovely

Food - bit [--] but typical for a chain. Overcooked mussels. Too much butter on the samphire. Fish overcooked. Chocolate fondant OVERCOOKED

No point complaining. You get money off - so what? I want nice food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank springerspaniel1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice but not excellent”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I took my wife for her birthday on Good Friday. The atmosphere was good and the waitress funny and polite. We chose the fish plus sauce plus 2 sides deal with the seafood supplement. The hake I had was nice but small as was my wife's bream. Quite expensive for £19 with supplement. I saw fish and chips on another table and it looked like a better bet as it was big portion. Anyway overall fine

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tjcamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne Restaurant also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Loch Fyne Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing