We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely atmosphere and great hosting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brasserie Blanc

Brasserie Blanc
Ranked #14 of 625 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $51
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This was our first Brasserie Blanc which opened over 18 years ago when Raymond Blanc was just a boy! Now with a truly beautiful new look, we are open every day from breakfast right through to dinner, and everything in between. We love it here in the heart of the Jericho area of Oxford where we serve real French food in our relaxed and welcoming, light filled space. The restaurant is always buzzing with our many regulars, new faces and the many tourists visiting this charming part of the city. Ask about our private dining room if you have a special occasion in mind or if you want a meeting space with great French coffee on tap.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely atmosphere and great hosting”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We visited Brasserie Blanc on recommendation from a friend who has been here repeatedly. She marvelled about the food and she wasn't wrong. After booking at short notice for our anniversary on Sunday we were greated like old friends. The waiters and waitresses were very attentive throughout. Our table, after emailing to outline it was for our anniversary was in a more secluded area next to the window and decorated with sprinkles which we thought was a nice touch. We also received a glass Of bubbly on arrival. We shared the platter and enjoyed steak and the beef stroganoff which was possibly the best I have tasted. Will definatly be returning!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasserieBlancOxford, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is very much appreciated and we are delighted to have impressed you. A glass of bubbly awaits you on your next visit of course. Best Wishes, Claudia Reiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    266
    142
    43
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I took the grumpy neighbour as a birthday treat ...she was absolutely charmed by the warmth of the welcome, the excellent service and the great food. My standing has risen...thank you Brasserie Blanc for a memorable experience and for making an old lady extremely happy. She threatens to return next year but I suspect I will be visiting long before then!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KT272013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasserieBlancOxford, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear KT272013

Your review made us chuckle....:) We are really glad that the "grumpy" neighbour was impressed. It's always good to keep your neighbours happy! Of course we are delighted that you both had a enjoyable lunch with us. As a little treat for you is waiting glass of bubbly on your next visit! Sante!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Convivial”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A very lively and welcoming restaurant, the waitress was super.
We booked for 6 30 and by 7 30 it was full and they were turning people away
The starter of fennel and tomato was followed by turbot on the bone and the piece de resistance was the caramel souffle light and fluffy, too big for one so reluctantly shared with my partner
The website was offering a free bottle of wine with a voucher download which made it doubly great.
Would certainly visit again if in Oxford ,shame there is not a Brasserie Blanc in Manchester/Cheshire

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank italytraveller099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasserieBlancOxford, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Such feedback is really appreciated by all of us. I am really pleased that you have chosen us and please let me treat you to a glass of bubbly on your next visit. Best Wishes, Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Staff excellent and professional and showed real experience in waiting tables and interacting with customers. We ordered from the A La Carte menu - food was superb, fresh and well priced. The Steak Tartar as a starter was excellent followed by the Cornish Crab and my partner enjoyed the Snails followed by Beef Stroganoff which I also tried and both exceeded expectations. We opted for glasses of house wine with our food both red and white and again were very impressed with quality and temperature of them. The Cheeseboard was a revelation accompanied by desert wine whilst my partner indulged in Pistachio Sorbet with Chocolate Ice Creme which she described as one of the best desserts ever!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemesis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasserieBlancOxford, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Oh what a lovely review, thank you ever so much for taking the time to give us such good feedback. I will pass this on to my team of course and I very much hope to welcome you back to us very soon. Next time please let us treat you to a glass of bubbly. Best Wishes, Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cholsey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb yet again”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of doing Sunday lunch with my wife, 2 boys and some friends at Blancs Brasserie in Oxford. It was the first time we'd gone for Sunday Lunch, though we have been many other times. Have to say the food was fabulous, my sirloin of beef was cooked to perfection, and the huge Yorkshire pudding was divine. My friends love the rib joint of pork. And my boys were looked after wonderfully (my eldest is convinced he drew a winning portrait of Raymond Blanc for the gallery on the stairs.) We are consistently well looked after, and nothing is to much bother for the staff there. Looking forward to my next visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DougHCholsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasserieBlancOxford, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review which is greatly appreciated by us. Please let me treat you to a glass of bubbly on your next visit for your effort of writing the review. We look forward to welcoming you back to us very soon. Best Wishes, Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Blanc also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Brasserie Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing