We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below par”
Review of Brasserie Blanc

Brasserie Blanc
Ranked #14 of 629 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $51
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This was our first Brasserie Blanc which opened over 18 years ago when Raymond Blanc was just a boy! Now with a truly beautiful new look, we are open every day from breakfast right through to dinner, and everything in between. We love it here in the heart of the Jericho area of Oxford where we serve real French food in our relaxed and welcoming, light filled space. The restaurant is always buzzing with our many regulars, new faces and the many tourists visiting this charming part of the city. Ask about our private dining room if you have a special occasion in mind or if you want a meeting space with great French coffee on tap.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Below par”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Went to Brasserie Blanc on a Thursday night with colleagues for a celebration.

We had a 'private room' (still part of the extremely loud restaurant), and were required to order our food a week in advance.

For a restaurant to justify the price, we were really expecting better standards - a normal baguette, olives etc was fairly dated. Paying £50 for a meal I didn't expect it would be £1.50 extra to have sauce with my steak. Essentially food well cooked but extremely unexciting.

I feel a lot more thought could go into the food, I would guess Raymond would not be particularly proud.

Service was polite but slow, as well as rather ignoring our end of the room.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OllieC290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasserieBlancOxford, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear OllieC,

Thank you very much for the review. I am very sorry that you had a disappointing experience.
I was in touch with the host after the event to obtain feedback and to see if you all had a great time; she did re-confirm that the evening was very enjoyed by all, hence my confusion about your comments. I will of course the issues you raised in my response.

Indeed, we do offer a Raymond Blanc Set Menu, 3 Courses for £16.45 but the host asked to order off the A la Carte Menu when the booking was made. When you pre-ordered, you would have seen the prices against the dishes. I can see that although you chose indeed the best dishes on the menu, the home hot oak smoked Salmon, the Chateau Briand (to share for 2) and cheeses , these are also the priciest dishes on the menu. Wine, other drinks and a 10% service charge are also added to that.

When guests book our private room, we do expect that a certain amount of privacy is requested , so we would not keep interrupting or indeed be overbearing on the group.
Please rest assured that you were not ignored. The waiter who served you is one of our best.

I have of course passed on your review and feedback to the host.

Once again, I offer my sincere apologies that you didn't have an enjoyable time but I do hope you will join us at some stage to experience the Set Menu which is fantastic value for money.

Best Wishes,
Claudia Reiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    272
    144
    46
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had lunch here with my brother who visits regularly and was very happy with the food. The manager was fantastic recommending wines and socialising with us in just the right amounts. Will certainly be visiting again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasserieBlancOxford, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. We are truly proud to be able to impress you and hope to see you again very soon.
Best Wishes,
Claudia Reiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Blanc is consistenly good”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having tried Covent Garden we visited the Oxford branch. Booked in advance.
In the Jericho area its 10 min walk from the centre - well worth the walk.
Greeted with a smile on arrival we were asked to wait a few mins whilst they set up the table in the window we requested. Attentive service, great food and good ambiance had a lovely evening.
If all Blancs restaurants are run like the two we have been too its easy to see why they are popular. Its not cheap but well worth it for a special occassion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonto40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasserieBlancOxford, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for sharing your experiences with us. We also thank you for being such a loyal guest. Makes us very proud indeed and please join us again soon, a glass of bubbly awaits you, compliments from me of course. Best wishes, Claudia Reiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value - good service”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We ate here recently from the set dinner menu, food was good - steak with Harissa butter was divine. Great value for the set menu and wine deal - we will definitely return - thanks!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rewandbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasserieBlancOxford, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
What a lovely review! Thank you ever so much and we hope to welcome you back to us very soon. Best Wishes, Claudia Reiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
623 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Don't miss the afternoon tea!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a nice and cozy place serving the nicest and tastiest pastries. It is great to have the afternoon tea with true fresh English scones. simply a delight!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Iris_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Blanc also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Brasserie Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing