We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brasserie Blanc”
Review of Brasserie Blanc

Brasserie Blanc
Ranked #10 of 673 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $54
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This was our first Brasserie Blanc which opened over 21 years ago when Raymond Blanc was just a boy! Now with a truly beautiful new look, we are open every day from breakfast right through to dinner, and everything in between. We love it here in the heart of the Jericho area of Oxford where we serve real French food in our relaxed and welcoming, light filled space. The restaurant is always buzzing with our many regulars, new faces and the many tourists visiting this charming part of the city. Ask about our private dining room if you have a special occasion in mind or if you want a meeting space with great French coffee on tap.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Brasserie Blanc is a fantastic restaurant. The food was delicious, the service was excellent and the atmosphere was exquisite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasserieBlancOxford, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you very much for the lovely feedback. Next time a glass of bubbly for you and guest(s) is on us. Best Wishes, Claudia Reiter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

861 - 865 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Booked lunch on a freezing cold day in Oxford.....we were going to do one of the walking tours but ended up spending four hours in this lovely little restaurant instead!! The set lunch would be hard to beat anywhere ...amazingly cheap for high quality food and a good choice of dishes too. Can recommend the sea bream if anyone is going there this month (the menu changes on the first Thursday of the month). Good service from the staff too who booked us a cab back to the rail station which is about a fifteen minute walk away. Will now be trying one of their London restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CopeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasserieBlancOxford, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at my Brasserie.

I am delighted that you had a realxing time at our Brasserie in Oxford and would very much encourage you to try one of the 7 Brasserie Blancs in London. A particular favourite is Covent Garden, Opera Terrace. On as sunny day, sipping a Pimms on their terrace is a true delight.
Best Wishes, Claudia Reiter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Quite incredible value for money - try the set course lunch (2 courses for £11.50; 3 courses for £13.95). Raymond Blanc creations at affordable prices.
This menu changes monthly and with the selection of meat and fish dishes four of us had a delicious and conversation-provoking meal including creamed celeriac, succulent pork cassoulet, perfectly cooked fish and a light apple crumble the way only the French can make it. The light open interior of the restaurant offers convivial surroundings for two generations to get together and enjoy a leisurely meal.
Oh, and don't forget to take advantage of the house wine on offer at a mere £2.50 a glass.
We will be going back again and again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kamini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasserieBlancOxford, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear KaminiC,

Fantastic review, thank you ever so much! I guess we have gained yet another 'Blanc Fan' which is excellent news indeed. Please make sure you show this repsonse from me to the Manager on Duty on your next visit and a glass of bubbly for you and guest(s) is on me.
Hope to see you again soon..
Best Wishes, Claudia Reiter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had our Valentine's dinner at Brasserie Blanc, and cannot fault it; the atmosphere was very nice and the quality of food was good, too. However, comparing with other restaurants they kind of overcharge for the food and services they offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maryam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasserieBlancOxford, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear MimT-66,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am really sorry you felt we were over priced.
We do offer our Raymond Blanc Set Menu every day (except Valentine's Day and New Year's Eve). On these 2 nights, we have other menus especially for the occasion. There is always a danger putting on too many menus on a busy night like Valentin'e Day, so we did condense the menu options to ensure we still deliver the quality.
Please do try us on the other days and sample the set menu (2 Courses £11.50, glass of wine £2.50). It's fantastic value, honest portion sizes and very yummy indeed.
I look forward to welcoming you back to us soon. Best Wishes, Claudia Reiter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

had great dinner before my son left for india last wednesday food and service were just right
the menu has lots to try we will be going back soon this has to be one oxfords best

david smyth

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank exmouthdavy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasserieBlancOxford, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, it's truly appreciated. I am delighted that you had a great experience with us and hope to be able to welcome you again to us very soon. With Best Wishes, Claudia Reiter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Blanc also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Brasserie Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing