We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and won't break the bank”
Review of Brasserie Blanc

Brasserie Blanc
Ranked #12 of 637 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $52
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This was our first Brasserie Blanc which opened over 18 years ago when Raymond Blanc was just a boy! Now with a truly beautiful new look, we are open every day from breakfast right through to dinner, and everything in between. We love it here in the heart of the Jericho area of Oxford where we serve real French food in our relaxed and welcoming, light filled space. The restaurant is always buzzing with our many regulars, new faces and the many tourists visiting this charming part of the city. Ask about our private dining room if you have a special occasion in mind or if you want a meeting space with great French coffee on tap.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food and won't break the bank”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The lunch menu is very reasonable and for under £12 a head you get 2 courses a la Raymond Blanc. The service gets the balance right between efficiency and friendliness. The gonococci was terrific and tasty and the haddock main had great flavour - and a properly poached egg - Feathered Nest take note. Deserts a good take on old favourites - baked apple and bread and butter pudding. Soche a lovely atmosphere for a Sunday lunch in particular.
They also did our son's wedding for 100 on a Saturday afternoon a few weeks ago which was stunning and phenomenal value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    278
    144
    46
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fab lunch”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Four of us went for lunch on a Saturday. It was really lovely. Staff were really nice and helpful. We went for the set lunch, this was nice and not too big. You get cheaper wine with this menu too. My white wine was delicious and the champagne was so nice at £4.70 a glass, well priced too. My only complaint was that my steak was a big underdone and slightly chewy but still really nice. My sister had the same but hers was much better. It didn't spoil it though. We didn't go for pudding or coffee bug could see lots of people did and the chocolate crumble looked to die for. For £11.95 for two courses and £13.95 for three this was a fantastically value for money lunch. The menu is changed monthly do you won't get bored. We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinky36Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always good”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have dined here on many occations over the years and always found it consistantly good.
We normaly go for the early evening set price menu as it is very good quality and not too big.
Whenever we have eaten off the main menu, it is of great substance and you know it is presented as it should be..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnBoyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were impressed by this restuarant and the quality of the food. The staff were helpful (and some of the staff were French - noted another review said there were no French staff!) and explained the dishes when asked for details and appeared knowledgeable. We were a fairly large party and all of us enjoyed our food and the experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotchick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Very good lunch - a bargain”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We visited Brasserie Blanc last week for our second meal there, having eaten at the Winchester branch a few times.

I phoned to book half an hour before we wanted to eat, although it wasn't necessary as when we arrived we found there were several tables free. Unfortunately the front door was propped open due to work being carried out and we were rather chilly each time the door opened - it was a very cold day. By the time we found how draughty it was, other tables of that size were taken. Our table was also very close to the next table; 4 people with very loud voices sat there - obviously enjoying hearing their own voices.

All 3 of us had the set menu, each having different meals from the list. We all enjoyed what we had chosen as well as the wine by the glass which we also had. This was good food at very reasonable prices; definitely comparable with what we eat regularly at home in France.

Service was good until after the main course was served, when it slowed right down. I was surprised to find that no French people work at Brasserie Blanc; our waiter was from Poland.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardengirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Blanc also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Brasserie Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing