We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lively and professional”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fishers - CLOSED

Fishers
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
130 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lively and professional”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I would definitely recommend this venue if you are looking for a restaurant with good ambience and properly cooked fish. The dishes are pretty simple, verging on the basic but excellent all the same. Special mention goes to service (Good job guys!) and their banana fritters (delicious!).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna11London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    84
    29
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, perfectly cooked”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Not trying to be too fancy, but these guys know what they are doing, and do it really well.
There is a fine line between perfectly done and overcooked fish, and they get it right. Service is equally good. Only slight criticism is that the wine list could be better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dev60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fabulous fish and seafood”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We always come to this restaurant when we are in Oxford and it never disappoints. This time we came for Sunday lunch and had the scallops and lobster. The scallops were beautifully cooked - very lightly done. The lobster was fresh and succulent. The following day we called in again for the set lunch which is good value at £8.95 for two courses- we excepted small portions but this was not the case. We chose fish cakes to start with followed by kedgeree (best I've ever tasted) and monkfish red curry - both good sized portions and lovely flavours. Would recommend this restaurant if you like fish. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wish this was located nearer !”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

A really excellent 'Fish' restaurant ..... 95% fish dishes served. Between Iffley village & Oxford this is a restaurant renowned for fresh produce, great atmosphere & excellent servive .....all of which it delivered in spades during our Sunday lunchtime visit. between the 4 of us we had traditional fish & Chips [very good portions & not at all greasy] Lobster [good size & very tasty] & Lemon Sole [again excellent] as were the puddings. There is also a good & varied wine list with something for all tastes

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmiddleditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fine”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Fish is good and fresh. Not much else to be said: dishes are simple, borderline boring but the fish is good and fresh. Makes the meal a bit expensive for what it is. Nice staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhafaLeHardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishers also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing