We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BELIEVE THE HYPE!”
Review of Al-Shami

Al-Shami
Ranked #185 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver
Level Contributor
113 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“BELIEVE THE HYPE!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Yes, it is that good. Great vegan options, and the menu actually notes what IS vegan, so there's no confusion.

At the start, they bring you a plate if salad vegetables. Seriously. A half-head of romaine lettuce, a few whole tomatoes, and about a half a cucumber. It's so cool!!

The tapas are all super fresh, and it's great just seeing them roll out. The table gets full of small plates, so try everything you can. This is an affordable find, tucked away on a little side street, just a couple blocks from Raoul's, which is a great place to start and end the evening!

Make sure you're ok with garlic, though, because this place doesn't use it lightly. Just wish I lived in Oxford so I could go here weekly! Reservations HIGHLY recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank turkergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    78
    43
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Having spent months in Israel, Egypt, Morocco and further, I have a great love for middle eastern cuisine and am open to all experiences. I wanted to share with my daughter an authentic Lebanese experience. And I felt that, situated in Oxford, the clientele might be discerning. I was sadly disappointed. I felt that there was a lack of vitality in the food and that I might have been better off exploring the market, heading off up St Giles or going to a nearby village and frequenting the pub.

Ah well, I tried it!! Next time I'll travel further afield - Israel perhaps!

Kashka R.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kashka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Group dinner”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Wonderful range of lebanese food! We were in a large group of 14 people and the service was smooth and efficient. I would happily recommend this restaurant and hope to go back

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchcombe, UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent food as ever...shame about the waiter!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I love this place! Delicious middle eastern food....washed down with Arak (aniseed) drink.

Lovely relaxed atmosphere too; slightly ironic with Lebanese restaurant facing across to a synagogue......waiter grumpy - not impressed with his service.

But overall, a delight

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmenianJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Lebanese food around!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I cannot stress enough how delicious the food here is. There is a huge selection of menu options, as well as plenty of dishes that are suitable for vegetarians and vegans. The staff are also friendly- the service may not always be the fastest, but the food definitely makes up for it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwenllian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al-Shami also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Al-Shami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing