We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Healthy dinner”
Review of Al-Shami

Al-Shami
Ranked #177 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Healthy dinner”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Fresh vegetables and good variety of starters, all with a different taste, mainly vegetarian. Very nice also the desserts, most of them with honey and nuts. All ingredients seem fresh and well cooked. It's a mediterranean-style cuisine, healthy and light.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fedeliffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    78
    43
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Walk a little further instead”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

There are so many great places to go just down the road in Jericho. I'm cautious not to be too harsh in this review so I'll start with a plus. The food was great. But the service was pretty bad and the atmosphere was uncomfortable and unappetising. We ordered starters and wine first while we chose our main. They wrote a number on our paper table cloth but somehow managed to bring the wrong table's food to us, after a very long wait. So we figured it was near enough and accepted it. We finally ordered the mains and they came so late that we'd lost our appetite. The bill never came. I had to walk to the front door to find the staff, who were all chatting jovially, apparently forgetting we'd finished eating 30 minutes ago. The toilets are grim. I know it's not the most important thing in a restaurant, but here's a tip - avoid them.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tripsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

In comparison to other reviewers, I found the service to be quite good. Friendly waiters who immediately attended to our requests however the food is what let the whole evening down. A strange plate of whole vegetables was handed to us in the beginning and the grilled dishes were extremely dry and tough to swallow- literally and metaphorically. The food was tasteless which is strange because lebanese cuisine is normally delicious.

It wasn't value for money either, the meal came out to be quite a high amount for such poor quality food. I won't be coming here again. I just hope that they read this and decide to improve on their dishes or get another chef cause the place is nice and the staff were good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fsk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food let down by poor service”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Al-Shami is a beautiful restaurant with a great atmosphere. The food is really interesting, representing a wide range of Lebanese cuisine which you don't often find in the UK. However, the service was a letdown. The waiters were friendly but very unattentive. We were there for over 2 hours before we got our main course.The food, whilst very tasty, wasn't particularly hot, probably because it was left at the pass for so long before it was delivered. They also forgot to deliver some drinks we ordered. We didn't chase this, partly because it was so hard to attract the attention of the waiters, but they still tried to charge us for these drinks at the end. Admittedly we were there on a busy Saturday night but if they can't provide a decent service at busy times then they need some more staff! If I was rating the restaurant on food alone then this would be a 5-star review but because of the service, I'd say it's an average restaurant and unfortunately I can't recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 189TomU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - and so much to eat!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We held a family celebration here - over 40 of us in a beautiful side room to the restaurant. The room is decorated in Lebanese tiles, lights and wood adding to the atmosphere of this great restaurant.
The food and wine were wonderful ... and since we were holding a party we were delighted with what seemed like a never-ending supply of fresh dishes to the table. I'd strongly recommend this restaurant for fresh delicious plentiful food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al-Shami also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Al-Shami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing