We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous Place!!!”
Review of Athena Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Athena Guest House
Ranked #77 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
basingstoke
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Horrendous Place!!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Awful awful awul, dirty, unsafe, not what had booked - had to go a further 150 yeard to what felt like student digs. Pubic hair in the fridge and beds. Dirt and mould in the shower, dirty sheets, dirty floor, naked neighbour that swore loudly...

Not what we had hoped at al.... vowed to never go back to the Cowely Road!!

thanks for making it one of the worst nights away ever Jack!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank womblefur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    21
    22
    59
See reviews for
34
36
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Really dissapointed in this place. When we arrived we checked in, paid and were then told tha our room was 150m further up the road. This turned into more like 3 times that distance.
The room itself was shabby at best, dust everywhere, rusty fridge, generally tired and grubby.
We did complain and were moved to another room which was marginally better but still had cracked light switches, pubes in the fridge and on the floor, mould in the shower etc.
We also had to endure the thin walls and listen to every noise from everyone else in the house.
The drain run also went through our bathroom so this was also noisy evrytime it was used.
The accomodation was more like student digs. It wasnt the location we paid for either.
Altogether very unhappy as it wasn't a cheap room and while not expensive we did expect a lot more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlesthobo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

My partner and I stayed for two nights here at Athena Guest House. The service was really good! The room was also really modern and beautifully decorated. Very clean and ensuite. It was lovely to see so much provided in the rooms. Biscuits, a variety of tea, coffee and even hot chocolate! We were even more suprised to see such high quality shampoo, conditioner and soaps! At first, the exterior looked rather plain but the rooms were excellent! They were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. We will definitely stay here again if we are to visit Oxford again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Our stay in Athena Guest House was really awful: When we arrived at
Athena, we had to check in ourselves, since the owner, "Jack", was not
there. We got a description via mobile phone, where the keys were
hidden. In his messages via mobile phone "Jack" reminded us several
times that we had to pay immediately after having arrived. We booked a
family room en-suite, not in the main building, but in a second
house (self-catering house), which was said to be 150m away from the
main building. Indeed, one had to walk 5 minutes. When we entered the
house (Cowley Road 353), there was a really disgusting smell in the
house. Our room (Family room for 4 persons) was really small. It was not
furnished well and it was very dirty (towels, bed-linen, floor). When we
opened the fridge, which was in our room, we discovered an old moulded
sausage in it. What was really disgusting was the fact that there was
mould funghus in the fridge and in the bathroom. Entering the shared
kitchen, we found mould funghus as well. The kitchen was dirty (one
guest washed his dirty socks in the sink of the kitchen ...), especially
the floor, eating irons and pots. Additionally, there was only one
table, and 5 chairs for the whole self-catering house. When "Jack"
arrived, we asked him how to manage this space-problem with the other
guest, but he avoided concrete answers. The next morning, we decided to
leave. "Jack" got very agressive and shouted loudly! So, never
ever decide for "Athena Guest House" when visiting the beautiful city
Oxford!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The owner of the property runs a few B&B houses under the name of "Athena Guest house" but it was not clear over the phone that we will get a room in a house more far from the center (which was originally depicted), around 1 km.

We also asked if he had parking and he said yes but it turned out that it was a public parking, which sometimes can be problematic.

We paid ~67 pounds for a double ensuite room, which was clear and had wi-fi.

The breakfast was typical to B&B in England.

Overall a nice experience, too bad that we got the feeling the owner was not very sincere, maybe it was all a misunderstanding but I suggest you should ask first about all these details.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We booked a one night stay here, the night before we checked in. We paid £88 for a triple room on the ground floor. The room was clean, with tea and coffee and tv facilities. En-suite was adequate for the price we paid. Supplied with Shampoo and shower caps - always a bonus! Breakfast was a full english. Vegetarian option also available. Jack, the owner cooks the breakfast - was a litte slow - our poached eggs came after we'd eaten most of the breakfast, but it was a nice breaksfast all in all. Pleasant owners. 20mins walk into town and plenty of different restaurants to eat in on the way into Oxford from the B&B. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalieingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Clare
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

It is really a lovely place to stay. I left my phone behind me when I was leaving and they posted it on to me.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menomex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Balkan Lodge Hotel
Balkan Lodge Hotel
#30 of 44 in Oxford
75 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#15 of 44 in Oxford
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cherwell Guest House
Cherwell Guest House
#51 of 82 in Oxford
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Browns
Browns
#57 of 82 in Oxford
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harris Guest House
Harris Guest House
#74 of 82 in Oxford
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
White House View Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athena Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Guest House

Property: Athena Guest House
Address: 255 Cowley Road | Cowley, Oxford OX4 1XQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Athena Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athena Guest House is a friendly, family run guest house in Oxford offering accommodation in single, twin or double, triple and family bedrooms all with washbasin facilities, tea & coffee, hairdryer & alarm clock radio, welcome trays and colour TV/DVD Player. Some room has free SKY satellite and NTL cable channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athena Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Guest House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing