We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel ! the worst ever! Rude and threatening staff!”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed October 21, 2008

This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had!Very rude threatening staff.

2 weeks prior to arriving, i had booked 2 double bedrooms after 7 times of phoning i finally booked it over the phone when someone could be bothered to pick the phone up! On arrival to the hotel there was no-one at reception, we had to look for a member of staff in the sweaty restaurant below. The reception we got was cold , it made us feel that we were getting in the way and very unfriendly! The owner announced that only one key for one room was available and that we (2 couples) had to settle for one bedroom!!! No apologies..and he even threatened me when I mentioned 'I thought this was meant to be a hotel!' he replied in a very threatening voice 'you are being sarcastic to the wrong person!'
They offered to put up the second couple into another hotel outside of Oxford!! and for the couple to pay the difference.
This was unbelievable!

The rooms are dirty, dark and dingy! Very very cold as the heating was not turned on. Very old carpets, furniture. The beds were incredibly uncomfortable and the bathroom tiny and looked like it had never been cleaned.

This hotel is a thousand times worse than hostels i used to stay at as a backpacker!
Do not go!!!! I will be contacting Trading Standards, as this hotel can not continue to take money for such terrible standards and to call itself a 'hotel' is beyond me!
Please let this disuade you from ruining your experience in Oxford, stay in another hotel!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TI-TRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 106 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2007

I have been going to the Richmond hotel for the last five years I have never ever faced any problem at all either with the staff or the rooms .
The breakfast is very nice they offer English and Lebanese breakfast both are very teasty plus a selection of cereal .
The hotel is located in a nice and safe area very close to the city centre .
I was very upset when I read the "Dreadful, don't go there." Review I am sure that the review was over the top I have recommended this hotel for too many people and they did the same but non of them had any problem at all they all said its cheap, clean, and has an easy access to the Oxford University Press, Oxford Refugee Centre, City Centre and too many other important places.
Therefore I strongly recommend this hotel for any one would like to visit oxford .

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OxfordLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2007

Finding a place to stay in Oxford without spending ludicrous amount of money is becoming more and more difficult.
When we decided to look for a hotel to stay over after my wife's Christmas party at the Randolph, we booked at the Richmond hotel for £50 B&B as
1) it was located within walking distance to the Randolph and
2) the quaint, friendly and serving good breakfast St. Michael's Guest House, where we stayed at the year before was unfortunately fully booked.

Anyway, the hotel is located above the Al-Shami Lebanese Restaurant in the very trendy Jericho area of Oxford.

To check-in, you need to go in the restaurant and ask at the bar for your keys. It's all a bit chaotic as they're trying to juggle food plates, people waiting to be seated and guests checking in upstairs so it feels very much like you're being a nuisance. Anyway, they do take the time to make you pay for the room in advance, something I'm always very wary about.

The room is down a dark corridor, large-ish with unplastered brick walls, a big Mona Lisa poster facing a huge mirror on the opposite wall. There's also a desk and a small TV. The view off the large windows is on Oxford's synagogue.

The bed is very small and terribly uncomfortable... pretty much as if you're sleeping on the floor really!

The en-suite bathroom is obviously an afterthought as they cut out a chunk of the room with cheap plasterboard to fit in this tiny shower room. It was very damp and smelly and the shower had a mould infestation I've never seen before... Absolutely terrible.

Anyway, after all this, we were hoping that the breakfast included would show off the skills of the Al-Shami kitchen staff (which is apparently quite good). We arrived in the restaurant room and we were asked by the most unpleasant waiter to sit down and to go and help ourselves... to a table full of mini packets of cereal.
After a while, he came back and offered us coffee and tea and toasts. That was it.

Needless to say, we were quick to leave this place and vowed never to come back, even for a meal at the restaurant. This is probably my worst hotel experience. Dreadful, don't go there.

Stayed: December 2006
8  Thank scof76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es muy elemental para aconsejar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hugo090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ирина Г
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#24 of 44 in Oxford
298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#29 of 44 in Oxford
221 reviews
1.9 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
707 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: 25 Walton Crescent | Jericho, Oxford OX1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $104 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing