We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it's not too good but not too bad.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“it's not too good but not too bad.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

It is good in overall as I cannot find the negative point about it. The internet is great which is free wi-fi with strong signal. The downstairs is the restaurant where they serve breakfast that is not too bad--the taste and decoration of the place.

Overall, it is clean simple and cozy room for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank curitibanaauska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    11
    8
    15
See reviews for
16
36
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights with my teen daughter and have absolutely nothing to complain!

The location is secure and convenient, the room was really nice and service impeccable.

I strongly suggest choosing the Lebanese breakfast instead of the English one. Al-Shami restaurant downstairs is also much worth a visit.

We'll definately stay here if ever go back to Oxford.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank mrs_eskola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights over Christmas in 2012, and enjoyed ourselves very much. Just one night this time, while visiting family in Jericho, but the same pleasant welcome, comfortable warm room, fluffy towels, and delicious Lebanese breakfast in the atmospheric Al Shami restaurant below.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Pererin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I recently spent five nights in Oxford, UK, with my tourist hat on, and was fortunate to have The Richmond Hotel as my base of operations. It's a quirky gem, set in the quiet, residential Jericho district, a short 10 minute walk from the major tourist destinations and the bus station. It was a pleasure to see, every time I passed Westminster College and turned left on The Richmond Road, a sign with drawings of a smiling Bobbie and a happy family, announcing "This is a NEIGHBORHOOD," as a way of calling attention to the 20 KPH speed limit sign below. I would smile and think, "Yes...and I live here too!" It was also fun to discover that The Richmond Hotel was a mere 4-5 minute walk from a Sunday afternoon swing dance with a live band at a nearby pub, and a Monday evening blues night at another.

The hotel is perched above a marvelous Lebanese restaurant, Al-Shami. There is no separate hotel reception area, but I let them know my estimated arrival time and was greeted warmly at the restaurant by David, the hotel manager. I had checked in by email, so he merely ran my credit card and showed me to my room. The room was surprisingly spacious and nicely furnished with inlaid furniture, the bed was comfortable, and both the room and en-suite bathroom were squeaky clean. There was a strong wireless signal, 4-Star hotel quality towels and a small flat screen TV. The Richmond is an exceptional value...I couldn't find any other establishment, within close walking distance of the University and the colleges, which offered anything near a 50 Pound per night en-suite room.

I'm a vegan, and David had asked the restaurant, which fulfills the breakfast part of B & B, to modify the usual Lebanese breakfast option to suit my needs. There is also a standard breakfast option of omelettes and toast, along with cold cereals and juice. I also ate most of my dinners at Al-Shami, since it's a treat to find a restaurant which serves many dishes which are inherently vegan, and not just substituting vegan items for non-vegan. Between the room, the restaurant, and David's gracious manner and extremely helpful suggestions and directions, my stay at The Richmond Hotel was very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the Richmond Hotel just for the one night and it was worth every penny. We arrived at the hotel at about 12:30. Since the check-in time is from 15:00 we thought we would just leave our luggage there and go for a walk in the city until our room is ready. However to our pleasant surprise, the owner kindly asked us to have a seat and wait a few minutes so that he could check if our room was ready. He was back shortly asking if we could follow him since we could take our room straight away. He not only opened the door for us but also showed us where we can find the towels, how we can adjust the heating, etc. He even gave us a basic map of the city centre and some tips regarding nice restaurants and bars for which we were very grateful. The hotel had an excellent location, it took us about 10 minutes to walk to the centre. The furniture in the room was a little bit worn (except for the bed which was in perfect condition) but everything was very clean. All in all, we were happy with what we got for our money and would go back anytime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CityExpl0rers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sastamala, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We, a family from Finland (6 adults), had a wonderful holiday in Oxford and it was made possible by having accommodation for 5 nights in The Richmond Hotel. Rooms are cozy and clean. It's located in peaceful area with no disturbing traffic having short walking distance (approx 10 min) to the center of Oxford. Restaurant Al-Shami has tasty English and Lebanese breakfast to choose and is also a very good choice for having a simple or full course dinner. Service is very friendly and professional in both the restaurant and in the hotel. And the 'inn keeper' David seems to have his heart in taking care of his guests and he also gave us many useful tips for exploring Oxford and Jericho area. Last but not least the cost level is very low compared the standards of the hotel. I'm sure we couldn't have made a better choice.

Room Tip: For longer stay (at least for a week) try to book as early in advance as possible because the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannu_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Richmond was just right for our 3 nights in Oxford. Convenient location, basic but quite adequate room, effective service from all staff, and excellent tips from David. The associated restaurant "Al Shami" well deserves its fine reputation. We much enjoyed breakfast there as well as a number of other meals.

Room Tip: We stayed during a heat wave -- fortunately, in north-facing room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Another_Over_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.6 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#16 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower House
Tower House
#20 of 83 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: 25 Walton Crescent | Jericho, Oxford OX1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing