We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our hotel in Jericho” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Sastamala, Finland
1 review
“Our hotel in Jericho”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We, a family from Finland (6 adults), had a wonderful holiday in Oxford and it was made possible by having accommodation for 5 nights in The Richmond Hotel. Rooms are cozy and clean. It's located in peaceful area with no disturbing traffic having short walking distance (approx 10 min) to the center of Oxford. Restaurant Al-Shami has tasty English and Lebanese breakfast to choose and is also a very good choice for having a simple or full course dinner. Service is very friendly and professional in both the restaurant and in the hotel. And the 'inn keeper' David seems to have his heart in taking care of his guests and he also gave us many useful tips for exploring Oxford and Jericho area. Last but not least the cost level is very low compared the standards of the hotel. I'm sure we couldn't have made a better choice.

Room Tip: For longer stay (at least for a week) try to book as early in advance as possible because the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannu_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    11
    8
    14
See reviews for
16
36
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Richmond was just right for our 3 nights in Oxford. Convenient location, basic but quite adequate room, effective service from all staff, and excellent tips from David. The associated restaurant "Al Shami" well deserves its fine reputation. We much enjoyed breakfast there as well as a number of other meals.

Room Tip: We stayed during a heat wave -- fortunately, in north-facing room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Another_Over_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed there with my family for 2 nights. A decent hotel with a nice outlook. If you are looking for spacious room, this may not be it. Besides that, the room is clean and adequate. For joggers/cyclists, there is a nice park opposite richmond hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N1t3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Richmond Hotel was excellent for the cost and convenience. We were very pleased with the hotel. We stayed six nights while visiting with relatives in Oxford. The hotel is convenient for transportation, shopping, and visiting colleges and churches, etc. While an English breakfast was available we especially enjoyed the Lebanese breakfast. The staff was accommodating and friendly. Everyone should try the delicious yellow lentil soup for lunch!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WillisBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Richmond Hotel is one of a kind. If you are looking for a standard-issue hotel, this is not the place. The hotel is up a side-staircase next to the restaurant, and the staff are hidden in the control room (you can always knock). On arriving, you go into the restaurant and ask where the hotel is. Someone will then solve the mystery for you.

That said:
> My (standard) room was big, and had a nice view.
> The room was very clean
> It had a desk, bedside table, convenient bedside light, unlimited free coffee (with brewing machine), and a good, clean shower and toilet
> It had excellent free wireless web
> Within 10 minutes of arrival, I received a phone call from the manager asking, with exquisite politeness, whether everything was fine, and was I happy with my room
> Breakfast was great
> This is Oxford's most convenient location, aside from The Randolph
> The staff are great

Again, please do not expect the standard. Though the comments made by other guests about "no soap" are inaccurate, as squeezy dispenser-type liquid soap is provided, it is true that many things in this charming hotel are a little odd. I had to search for toilet paper. Having concluded that there wasn't any and having asked for a new batch, I discovered that I was mistaken and that there was paper, but in a dispenser the like of which I have never previously seen (they need to label it!).

You could of course stay in a Premier Inn at twice the price, and feel humiliated and alienated as you wander the horrendous pre-fabricated corridors and cut-price standardised everything, plus suffer from the inconvenient location.

Or you can choose the thinking man's solution - The Richmond.

The food was excellent, the bed was comfortable, the room was large - genuine service at my budget level. I left happier than I arrived, proud to have discovered something unique.

Room Tip: Call up and talk to the very helpful manager. Just tell him what you would like, and he will fix it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MatthewPollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here on 01/03/2013 as going to Oxford New Theatre 5 minute walk. Good accommodation it was clean and adequate, good value, breakfast was interesting chose the Lebonese option enjoyed, overall good value but dont expect sheer luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dumpster62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you expect traditional English B&B - you'll be very disapointed. Absense of hospitality, strange handling of customer's requests to see the room before paying upfront money for staying. Very dark rooms, awful food - never will be back there again and will tell my friends to avoid this establishment. Negative memory.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oxfordpatient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#16 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ethos Hotel
Ethos Hotel
#21 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tower House
Tower House
#20 of 84 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: 25 Walton Crescent | Jericho, Oxford OX1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing