We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Find”

Oxford Castle & Prison
Ranked #4 of 20 Museums in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Oxford Castle & Prison explores the 1000-years of Oxford's History. Led by one of our costumed characters, the rich history of the castle with a prison at its heart will be revealed to you. Climb St. George's Tower and take in the stunning views before descending into the atmospheric crypt, along the 18th century prison wing and into archaic man-made mound.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We didn’t intend to visit the castle but it was well worth it. We travelled with our 6month old son in his push chair. My dad stayed downstairs with him and watched an informational film while we climbed the tower. We were able to park the push chair and carry him through the rest of it. Our tour guide Oliver was very friendly and interactive. We had a lovely visit and would recommend it to families. Just note that for the tour, I believe children had to be over 5 to go up, but they had toys set out for them to play with while the rest of the tour goes up. (And obviously an adult needs to stay with them.)

Thank AlySpra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaC5097, Guest Experience Duty Manager at Oxford Castle & Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi! Thanks so much for reviewing us! We're so happy to hear that you all enjoyed Oliver's tour so much! (And yep you're right- under 5's stay at the base of the tower but we do have toys, books, a video and an interactive touchscreen for those who stay at the base to enjoy)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 213 reviews
"period costume"
in 23 reviews
"malmaison hotel"
in 24 reviews
"great tour"
in 82 reviews
"spiral staircase"
in 19 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 70 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 22 reviews
"interesting history"
in 25 reviews
"worth the climb"
in 20 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 32 reviews
"mound"
in 147 reviews
"dolls"
in 153 reviews
"tower"
in 438 reviews
"character"
in 152 reviews
"matilda"
in 42 reviews
"rowland"
in 34 reviews
"gypsy"
in 29 reviews
Filter

27 - 31 of 1,982 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time visiting Oxford Castle & Prison and Oxford in general. The tour guide was excellent and provided us with all the information, plus extra, about the history of the prison. Currently working in a prison, it's fascinating to see the difficulties and differences to todays prison system. Highly recommend

Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaC5097, Guest Experience Duty Manager at Oxford Castle & Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Francesca! We're so glad that you found the tour interesting and relevant, considering your career!). Thanks so much for endorsing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaC5097, Guest Experience Duty Manager at Oxford Castle & Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

History , information, by Marcus our tour guide . A must visit if you are visiting oxford . Going up the tower is bit difficult and I believe a disabled person wouldn’t have access to go all the way up , so check before you buy tickets.

Thank chrism471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaC5097, Guest Experience Duty Manager at Oxford Castle & Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi! Thanks so much for reviewing! You're right in saying that the stairs can be a bit inaccessible- those who choose not to climb have a video and interactive touchscreen to keep them filled in on the history of the tower though. We're so happy to hear that you all enjoyed Marcus's tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaC5097, Guest Experience Duty Manager at Oxford Castle & Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Castle & Prison also viewed

 

Been to Oxford Castle & Prison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing