We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable and great staff”

Oxford Castle Unlocked
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.53*
and up
Oxford Castle Unlocked Entrance Ticket Including Guided Tour
Ranked #11 of 177 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oxford Castle Unlocked explores the 1000-years of Oxford's History. Led by one of our costumed characters, the rich history of the castle with a prison at its heart will be revealed to you. Climb St. George's Tower and take in the stunning views before descending into the atmospheric crypt, along the 18th century prison wing and into archaic man-made mound.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable and great staff”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Was very impressed with our visit here mainly with our guide who did the tour in character as a man who was hanged centuries ago (sorry can't remeber the name!).

He was very welcoming and knowledgable and made all on the tour feel involved. It was interesting learning about what the castle was previosuly used for (as a prison) and also to see the great view across the city when you reach the top of the tower.

If your in Oxford well worth a vist for a couple hours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bakerboy3685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    398
    93
    27
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Well thought out tour with an entertaining and knowledgeable guide in character as 'King Sven'. Worth the climb up the tower to see the views of the city and learn some of the history of the castle and prison.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An interesting use of a couple of hours”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were on a long trip and used Oxford to break the journey up a little.

To my shame (and having been a regular business visitor to the City) I didn't even know that Oxford had a castle so went along with wife and kids to see what it was all about.

Not disappointed, the "castle" part was just a Tower but gave an interesting insight as to some of the City's history with the tour of the cells (including the various historical attitudes to crime and punishment) fascinating.

It was school holidays so there was the obligatory treasure hunt with sweetie at the end for the kids (not a criticicism, my kids love them) so all in all a good effort and I think that I left enriched for the experience (even if I was the mug who stood closest to the pillory when the guide decided to provide a practical demonstration).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo37_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Better than it looks”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Not sure what to expect but I shouldnt have worried it was excellent. Th guides dress up in costumes of the day. The guided tour was excellent, a good pace and often funny. The view from the top is well worth the climb up the 100 stairs. It was all extremely enjoyable and if you do the City bus tour you get a discount on the price of the ticket. I would cerainly recommend this tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Creep029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oxford Castle And Prison Brought To Life”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect when I visited Oxford Castle with my wife and two sons, who are 8 and 6. However, it was one of the most enjoyable attractions we have visited. Our tour guide was in the character of a prisoner, and the first part of the attraction is a talk at the base of the tower, followed by a climb to the top of the tower, with a break halfway up. Our 6 year old managed the stairs fine, and the small size of the group (15 in ours) works well, and encourages a feeling of camaraderie. There were some great views of Oxford from the top of the tower, without it feeling too scary for those of us who are not great with heights! We then descended the tower and went into the crypt- again, just scary enough for younger kids, and not too claustrophobic for those of us with multiple mild phobias! The trip then progressed into the prison and after a brief talk in a couple of the cells, we were left to our own devices to wander the prison, castle and mount.
I can't praise the tour guide enough, fascinating tales and plenty of jokes without him overstepping into taking the mickey.
A great attraction, and one that leaves a lasting impression on you. Our 6-year-old is asking to go back again, and even the café has great, reasonably priced food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Castle Unlocked also viewed

 

Been to Oxford Castle Unlocked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing