We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love at first sight!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TVC The Varsity Club

TVC The Varsity Club
Ranked #3 of 53 Nightlife in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This buzzing young bar in the heart of Oxford has an eclectic mix of contemporary decor with a twist of traditional period features. Laid out over 3 floors, with a phenomenal roof terrace overlooking Oxford, it is the ideal venue for your private event. Our expert Bartenders mix cocktails made from only premium spirits and fresh ingredients. We also have a range of beers, wines and champagnes. Artisan roasted Ue coffee and free wifi in the day.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love at first sight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I visited The Varsity Club for the first time last week. I went with my girlfriends and we headed straight for the new roof top terrace! We were completely taken away with the place! It is by far one of the best views in Oxford and the venue's decor is beautifully elegant. The staff were friendly, the service was great and the food was delicious! A truly classy and sophisticated venue and I cannot wait to return! This is the place Oxford has been missing!

Tip: Don't forgot to try the Mojitos - they were fabulous!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    51
    25
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view marred by terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The newly refurbished roof top bar is a sight to behold and probably provides one of the best views in Oxford. I would definitely recommend heading up solely for the view. Make the journey to the bar however and there is a strong chance you will be bitterly disappointed.

I went with a few friends for a quick drink and was amazed with the setting but was treated to some of the worst service I have ever experienced. Not only were the staff confrontational with each other in front of customers behind the bar, they were also using phones and seemed totally disinterested with customers' needs. There was no interaction, not even so much of a smile which makes the place seem pretentious and unwelcoming.

I was excited upon entering but would certainly not return again and was left extremely disappointed after what could have been such an excellent experience if only for a little effort where it actually matters.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BourkeStTram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private Birthday Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Had a truly memorable night for a friend's birthday party last Saturday night. Took over the whole of the 1st floor. Just so much fun as the music was great and the drinks were a really high standard and the staff were very genuinely helpful and cool. Didn't want the night to end. Will return !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cramped and sweaty, slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Have been here for a few events. The lower floor has a potentially pleasant seating area, but it is rendered pointless by the volume of music in that area – a good volume for a dancefloor, but not so good when you want to sit and chat for a bit. It would be preferable if the speakers in that area were set slightly quieter...

There is a long bar on the lower floor – yet it seems to often be staffed by only three or four barstaff. The choice of drinks revolves around cocktails, which take some time to make. Therefore service can be painfully slow (talking 20 mins). The staff are a mixed bag... some seem very friendly, others less so.

Now you might venture upstairs for a dance. You may be drunk enough that the suffocating lack of ventilation and stench of sweat is ignorable. You will, however, be surprised when a condensed mixture of perspiration and other bodily fluids begins to drip from the ceiling onto you.

Overall I wouldn't recommend The Varsity Club. It seems like a second-rate venue.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank martinp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxshott, United Kingdom
1 review
“A place of style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I don't get into Oxford too often these days but now we've found the Varsity Club we'll certainly be going more often. Great music, atmosphere, fabulous cocktails - all with style. The views over Oxford are stunning and well worth a visit to the roof.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TVC The Varsity Club also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to TVC The Varsity Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing