We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the walk for a tasty lunch”
Review of Zheng Restaurant

Zheng Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Singaporean, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: ' Possibly The Authentic Chinese-Malaysian In The Country' THE TIMES - Giles Coren
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the walk for a tasty lunch”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This restaurant does a fusion of Malaysian, Shanghainese and Cantonese (dim sum). Located in Jericho, it is a 10 min walk from Gloucester Green, but worth the walk for some decent Chinese food at reasonable price.

We came here for lunch. The lunch set was around 6-7 GBP per person. We ordered Shanghainese belly pork rice which was delicious and the traditional Malaysian rice with dried fish, chicken and peanuts - I was a bit disappointed with the presentation as it looks quite sparse, and the fried chicken wing (!) - never seen this in SEA food personally - but the coconut rice was heavenly soft and fragant and matches the rest of the dish very well. I would highly recommend ordering the rice and would do so the next time.

The manager came from Guangzhou some decades ago to open this restaurant and appears to know his food - ask for his recommendations if you are unsure.

Overall, four stars because of the walk. Would be back if in the mood for walking for decent, authentic (Oxford standard, hence four star for food too) Chinese food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SmokieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    142
    42
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Meals”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Siu Mei is good. Prawn is tasty. Fired Vegetable is of the Chinese wok scent -- to be specific Ginger juice for Kale. Dim Sum is Cantonese. Service is good. Food is of same level that we usually have in the good ones in Hong Kong.

We stayed Oxford for a week. We had two dinners there. Both exceeded my original anticipation. I would certainly recommend it for others.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MK W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty food if you could have it”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

I went for a friends birthday meal and there was a large group of about 16. The menu looked great but because of the large group the waiter suggested rather strongly that we should go for the 'Chefs Choice'. Normally this would have been ok but my husband is allergic to seafood, we had another friend that was celiac and another friend that did not want any MSG. We explained this to staff but again it was strongly suggested that we had this chef choice. We were guaranteed there would be lots of dishes for them to eat. When the food came staff appeared to be more considerate to the non MSG eater rather than the people with restrictive diets. My husband had about two or three dishes he was able to eat but these had to be shared with others. He was about to tuck into another before I realised it had dried shrimp on top! Also there was a fried battered fish that the celiac couldn't touch. As a result, people got a taste of things they wouldn't have normally have but most left the restaurant not that full. Also I really did not feel comfortable with the 'fingers crossed' approach of my husband not eating shrimp.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank sianylp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is a great find- the cuisine is authentic, unique and delicious. Oxford was bereft of decent Chinese food for a long time and now we have two- Zheng and Sojo. Keep it up!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Extremely happy - wish could move them to where we live!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were staying a few nights visiting Oxford and called in unbooked. We had an excellent meal. We have lived in SE Asia and this is typical Singaporean food, a blend of the best bits of Chinese, Malay and Indonesian cooking.

We had chilli squid and sate to start, both well cooked with first class batter and well made peanut sauce. We then had Szechuan Lamb with Cumin, plus a very authentic Nasi Goreng (which comes unassembled for one to pout together on the plate - no hiding place for poor ingredients). We also had a plate of green veg in garlic sauce and steamed rice. Also some pleasant white wine.

Excellent food and excellent value for money - in fact plates were too large for us (but we wanted to try many things - and they have to cater for hungry students). Service was good and friendly and it was a pleasure to discuss the dishes with one of the owners.

I wish we could move Zheng's to where we live on the Isle of Wight!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zheng Restaurant also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Zheng Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing