We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stop in England”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Remont Oxford Hotel
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First stop in England”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We chose this B&B as it provided us with parking, such an important feature when you pick up your car at Heathrow. It was located outside of Oxford but in a nice little district. We could stroll down and had a snack. There was also a great wine bar close by. Breakfast was fantastic. Great way to start our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    249
    58
    14
    8
See reviews for
126
361
40
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

They don't recommend driving into Oxford, so this hotel is very good because there is a bus stop across the street that will take you to and from central Oxford in about 10 minutes. We stayed in a top floor room for 2 nights, which was a little inconvenient because the lift doesn't go all the way to the top floor and we had to lug our bags up and down the last flght. Minor quibble though. Our room had an air conditioner, a rarity in the UK, and it was helpful because it was warmer than usual. Good buffet breakfast, staffer Natasha was very helpful and answered all of our questions. A little pricey at 140 quid a night. Free parking for our car was very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carollover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at The Remont in September, sleeping in a standard double facing the road. The Remont is definately more B&B than hotel but it is spotlessly clean and the breakfast is a good choice of full English, continental and a delicious fruit salad with yogurts.

The Banbury road is very busy and we were woken up super early in the morning after a late supper the night before. However, the traffic in Oxford is awful and the Remont is close enough to town for jumping in a taxi and not having to even try and park the car in town. The beautiful Old Parsonage at the other end of Banbury Road is a superb choice for supper, they also have rooms but at nearly three times the price of The Remont.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We made a reservation with this guest house over the phone. They never bothered to post or email a confirmation hence we ended up booking an alternative hotel. The Remont then had the audacity to charge us for a no show despite the fact that it was their shoddy management that caused us to never receive a confirmation.

Avoid this place if you value your money and don't give them your card details.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Stu741215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very nice place to stay with really good breakfast, although it does seem to lack a little bit of soul. Still I have stayed 3 times now so it must be pretty good! Quite a few restaurants down the road in Summertown, try the spice lounge for good Indian food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingofclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for one night in a superior room. The room was very large on the 1st floor, with a bay window over looking the front of house. The room was spotlessly clean and bathroom with clean white towels. The bed was as described, a 6ft bed which was very comfortable. We cannot fault the room, except that you will hear the trafic noise, which didnot effect our sleep.
The shower was great and the breakfast was perfect. A choice of buffet, either cold or full english breakfast, or if required you could have both, which we did.
A warm welcome on arrival and friendly staff at breakfast. Another added bonus, is the free parking on site. About 10 mins by bus to city centre. We had a short walk of 7 mins to local restaurants, we recommend The Portabello Restaurant. Will stay again when in Oxford.

Room Tip: Superior Room will give you a larger room and bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here just for one night whilst meeting a friend halfway from London. The room was comfy and quiet despite being on the main road. The breakfast was really good, had everything you could wish for and more! The staff perhaps weren't that great at recommending anywhere local for dinner, offering the local Summertown area where there was an okay pub. It wasn't okay, it was rubbish! Try the Cherwell Boathouse on Bardwell Road, not too far but you'll most likely need a taxi ride there from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallySpider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
5.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
332 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remont Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remont Oxford Hotel

Property: Remont Oxford Hotel
Address: 367 Banbury Road | remont, Oxford OX2 7PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#4 Business Hotel in Oxford
#8 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Remont Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently renovated boutique styled accommodation in the picturesque city of Oxford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Remont Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remont Hotel Oxford
Remont Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing