We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$100
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$95
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Vio.com
$93
View deal
Priceline$105
Hotels.com$95
Travelocity$95
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
86
44
22
4
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
86
44
22
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus stop caught the bus would definitely stay here again night stay breakfast was delicious enjoyable stay comfortable beds busy road town centre yan hospital buses
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 166 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2016

Very conveniently located in Headington, close to shops and bus stops. Relatively quiet given the nearby road, fridge and ironing facilities available for guests. Big shower and bathroom; nice complementary biscuits, teas and coffees in the room. Kettle and dryer provided. Pros: nice atmosphere, friendly & helpful staff, good location not too far from anything in Oxford. Cons: no manned reception at night, kettle and bathroom weren't the cleanest, breakfast is plenty but with microwaved eggs and frozen hash browns, so not great if you are health conscious. Coffee was really good!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Princess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Yanling C, Manager at Oxford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Dear guests,

Thank you for your review.
All of the guest houses have frozen hash brown, and make the scramble eggs with a microwave. However, if you prefer to have a pan fry scramble eggs, can always request our staff to do it. We have made even omelette and boiled for our guests on requests.
We always have a staff work from 5p.m to 10p.m. as our last check in time is at 10p.m.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Yan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016

We have booked our room on the 3rd August for a 1 night stay 5th to 6st August at the Oxford Guest House. On the 4th August we have canceled the booking because we had to go to the hospital, due to the fact that my wife is pregnant. We have tried many times to call the number provided but nobody answer. They have charge us 120 GBP for not even staying there. On Monday the 8th we called again and nobody answer. We have called booking.com they have also tried to call them, but no response, they have told us they will email.

After 20 minutes somebody calls us from Oxford Guest House , barely speaking english, I explain the situation and she told me that this is life and she cannot reimburse the payment.
Very disappointing . I do not recommend it at all.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ioan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Yanling C, Owner at Oxford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Hi Mihaela Stoleriu,
We are very sorry that you find that unsatisfied because we charged you full rate for last minute cancellation. I hope you understand that you booked on the 4th of August 2016 to check in on the 5th of August, which was the next day check in. When you booked on Booking.com, you must have read the 3 days cancellation policy. If everyone give us a reason that her wife is pregnant and therefore cannot check in, then all the hotels or guest house cannot survive. All of our staff speak perfect English, and you phoned us 7a.m in the morning when our office opens at 9a.m. Also, you told us that you find out that your wife is pregnant not because you or your wife has to go to hospitals. Even if you had to go to hospital, I think morally, we still have to follow our terms and conditions, or otherwise our society will be in riot.
Thank you for your understanding, and all the best to your wife.

Yan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016

The beds were extremely comfortable and the whole guest house meticulously clean. The young staff and the owner were exemplary - helpful, polite and friendly. The situation is a few miles outside the crowded city centre and has plenty of shops and a frequent bus service. The nearby park was an added bonus for the toddler we had with us.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anneL4311DX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 12, 2016

The staff were very helpful and could not do enough to help , the rooms very clean and the beds extremely comfortable, and the road noise was non existent because of double glazing, good breakfasts cooked as you liked just tell them what you want,I thank Yan her staff for making my stay so comfortable

Room tip: The back is away from the very busy road
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here one night, our rooms were clean and tidy. We were made welcome by staff but during the night other guests were very noisy which meant we all had broken sleep. I had the single room next to the kitchen with its bathroom across the corridor. Bathroom was fine but lock didn't work. Well placed for the hospitals so travel was easy.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Helenmac12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews