We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us!”
Review of Oxford Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oxford Guest House
Ranked #28 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a rental car but did not want to drive in busy, expensive-to-park Oxford, so searched for a place on the outskirts of town. Loved that we could leave our car here and take the bus (right outside the guest house) into the city center. The staff was so friendly and helpful--allowing us to park and leave our bags early in the day for a later return and directing us to the bus. A friend and I had a nice twin room right at the front of the house--thick curtains blocked light and sounds and we slept perfectly. We really appreciated the free wifi, in-room tea & coffee, and filling breakfasts. We are glad we found the Oxford Guest House and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Oxford Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 110 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Oxford Guest House is conveniently located on the London Road after the Headington roundabout. It is an unashamed business project conversion of a fairly undistinguished ex-three bedroom family house into a purpose-adapted guest hostel. There is no pretence that it is anything other then this. It means there are maximum numbers of bedrooms on all floors and a small office near the entry. There are no common areas apart from the stairway and the kitchen/diner. Our room was very small though ingeniously ergonomically designed, withs some flaws in practical terms that suggested the proprietor thad not tried out the adaptation. Parking was very tight in the back space - a paved over garden. Breakfast was also without distinction in terms of quality of products, but cheerfully and competently cooked. the best feature was probably the staff, who were very amenable, but we never met the owner who was due to 'drop in' the next day and had only communicated with us when she phoned us previously to establish our time of arrival.

Room Tip: Upstairs rather than downstairs at the back.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilesB157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

20 out of 10 brilliant accommodation spotless clean Breackfast great so kind people couldn't do enough for me.
My wife had operation at john Radcliff hospital and just 15 min walk away.
Excellent place to stay for hospital

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanling z, Owner at Oxford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Hi Alan,

Thank you for your very good feedback. It is our pleasure to have to stay at our guest house. We will strive to maintain our good quality in all aspects.

We look forward to your return visits next time, only for travelling :)

Yan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Spotless, outstanding and caring service by owner and staff, really comfortable beds, large power shower, free wi fi, large tv, quiet, free parking. Breakfast so good !! This is a guest house which will not disappoint in any way. Very convenient for local hospitals and only 10 minutes drive into the city.centre. I was very impressed and feel this sort of service should be used as a blueprint for others. Perfect stay and will definitely return.

Pamela B.

Room Tip: Ask for largest room available overlooking garden.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanling z, Owner at Oxford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you so much Pamela for your excellent feedback. We will strive to maintain our good and spontaneous hospitality. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Yan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

OGH is conveniently located away from the centre of Oxford, but on the main bus route into the city and a decent stroll to the John Radcliffe Hospital. We stayed for just one night and were warmly welcomed. The bedroom was at the rear of the building and quiet, although a little cramped with an extra single bed and the en suite was obviously built into the original bedroom. All the usual amenities ware provided and the bed was astonishingly comfortable. Breakfast. was well cooked and presented if unspectacular. Take care when pouring from the tea pot as there is a design fault on the spout and tea could go in places you lease expect or want.

Room Tip: The OGH is on a main road so rooms at the rear are probably quieter
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night 08/03/14.
Our stay from start to finish at Oxford guest house was outstanding,the place is lovely and spotless throughout. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we walked through the door,we give it a 10/10

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Onehiggsy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I arrived at a late night in February. The owner is a really nice lady. She even asked me if I would like to have something to eat. Really thoughtful. My room was really lovely and clean. I stay at this B&B for 2 nights. I would like to say I was really well treated by the all staff. I loved their breakfast as well, It's really fresh. Will come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivi1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Red Mullions
Red Mullions
#2 of 84 in Oxford
645 reviews
3.4 mi away
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 84 in Oxford
108 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Conifers Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pickwick's Guest House
Pickwick's Guest House
#71 of 84 in Oxford
132 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#17 of 84 in Oxford
168 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oxfordbnb
Oxfordbnb
#9 of 84 in Oxford
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Guest House

Address: 228 London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 9EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $102 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Guest House is a brand new built family run guest house in Headington area, a very lovely place, where you can find many cafe shops, restaurants, banks & supermarkets within 5 minutes walking distance. Whether you're a tourist or business traveler, our guest house is a great choice for accommodation when visiting Oxford. There are also famous hospitals like the John Radcliffe, The Churchill Hospital, The Nuffield Hospital and The Manor Hospital, etc. There are some famous private schools and The Oxford Brookes University are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oxford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing