We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly welcome, centrally located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heather House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heather House
Ranked #6 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
tremaine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and friendly welcome, centrally located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

A very pleasant stay in a B&B that is within easy reach of the city centre and in a relatively quiet part of town. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal and Viv, who runs the place, very friendly and makes you feel very welcome. It felt like a home from home.

  • Liked — the owner
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank foomanchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    105
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
86
94
72
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2008

Heather House B & B is excellent value for money. It is a 10 min walk to Magdalene Bridge and has off-road parking. Vivien will arrange her day around your arrival and departure times to be sure she is there to welcome you and can answer any questions. She can advise you on bus routes, tours, local restaurants and Oxford in general. Nothing is too much trouble for Vivien and she is very friendly. I had a super cooked breakfast, a nice, quiet, clean room and a relaxing hour in a very pleasant lounge. Would definitely stay again.

Jane, Somerset.

  • Liked — friendliness of the owner
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneSomerset_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2008

For anyone unfamiliar with Oxford, the Iffley Road isnt the prettiest of places, although it is fairly central. The room here was very clean and neat but the place is faded and if advertised by an estate agent would definitely fall into the 'modernisation required' category. Its certainly in need of an aesthetic overhaul. I would say that Its an okay place for a quick visit to Oxford (just a place to lay a weary head and then off....) but to be honest, I'd recommend people try the Youth Hostel by the station for a better deal. It is stunningly central, cheap and the family rooms are great value for money.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — overbearing owner
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank creativefix65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

I stayed at Heather House for one night, and found my room to be very clean and spacious. The owner, Vivien is very friendly and helpful. Only a 20 minute walk to the High Street, however it lies on one of the main bus routes should you not feel like walking. I would definately stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FlossUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

I stayed at Heather house for a week, which I spent studying at the Bodleian Library in Oxford.
I found a very nice place, and had a very clean and comfortable room (I took one of the double rooms). The place is indeed very quiet, and Vivian was very friendly and helping.
The location was even better than I expected - a 15 minute walk from Oxford's center, which I made every day (although there is a frequent bus going from just outside the guesthouse). A computer connected to the internet, which is available to the guests, was also a very big help for me.
I thought it was an excellent value for money, even beyond my expectations.

  • Liked — Clean, good location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2008

Heather House is a pleasant B & B. The location is ideal to explore Oxford. The walk to High street is only 20 minutes. Alternatively, there is frequent bus service directly in front of the house. This B & B was immaculate and quiet. The breakfast was good. The owner was accommodating as far as the time I wanted to eat and even packed me a to-go breakfast one morning. I would visit Heather House again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank global55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

Vivian was a gracious hostess. The room was clean and homey, and the bed quite comfortable. At night it was very quiet, even though the location is right in Oxford. And breakfast was lovely. Very nice stay and an excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinMomOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.9 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heather House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather House

Property: Heather House
Address: 192 Iffley Road, Oxford OX4 1SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Heather House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing