We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely host” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heather House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heather House
Ranked #5 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for one night and it was a really good stay. The host is super lovely and served a really nice breakfast. Rooms were quiet and very clean. Would definetely stay again. Only 15 minutes from oxford centre. Easy to walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherHouseOxford, Owner at Heather House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks Julia, hope you all enjoyed the rest of your road trip, it was great to meet you all and a pleasure to accommodate you. Best wishes, Lisa and Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    105
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
85
94
72
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very good value for the money, located about a 25 minute walk from the center or short bus ride. The rooms are generally small and the walls are thin. So if that is important then take note. The breakfast is good and the owners are very helpful.

Room Tip: Book to the rear of the house and make sure you understand the specifics of the room (ensuite, size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plasmablip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherHouseOxford, Owner at Heather House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at Heather House and for your comments, it was great to meet you, we are fascinated with your field of work. Our rooms range from large family rooms for 4 people to the small single, which is the one you stayed in. This single room is inexpensive as you kindly commented, and is very popular. A frequent visitor has reserved it for one night a week up to July. The walls are standard for an Edwardian house.

Hope you journey home was good and look forward to welcoming you back to Heather House one day.
With best wishes, Lisa and Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having just completed last leg of first stage of Shakespeare's Way we were very pleased to find such a welcoming host and such good accomodation. The house is deceptively large (looks quite small from road) and our room was very clean with a spotlessly clean en-suite. Our only disappointment was that the shower lacked any power and was cold (the "metalwork" became very hot to touch but the water remained very cool)
Lisa and Norman were very helpful with suggestions for restaurants for evening meals nearby.
Breakfast was excellent with Lisa's fruit a lovely touch. The cooked food was very tasty and filling. We would definitely recommend a stay hear to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandCW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherHouseOxford, Owner at Heather House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely and constructive comments, Mr and Mrs. Wickins! It was a pleasure to meet you all and to have had the opportunity to accommodate you.

We have been investigating the best solutions to the shower in this particular room for a while, and our plumber has ordered a specialist pump for the work to be carried out next week. Thank you also for bringing to our attention the "cool" hot water, Norman has made some adjustments to the boiler tempreture control and we will be monitoring it.

Hope you are all rested from the Walking Tour, lots of admirations for your enthusiam and resolve, keep walking!

With best wishes to you all, Lisa and Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullapool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here just the one night fresh from Heathrow via Hertz rental car. Had no UK phone yet and organised our booking via eMail - easy. Twin room overlooking Iffley St. with off-street parking. Short 10 minute walk to the heart of Oxford town, and also right on frequent bus service. New hosts Lisa and Norman Forman only too friendly and obliging - nice cooked breakfast in shared dining room. Quiet and convenient location perfect for visiting Oxford. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had booked the double en suite for myself and my partner, but they upgraded us to a larger room for free when they saw I was booking from the States (they anticipated a lot of luggage, and wanted us to be comfortable -- also it is January and not tourist season so they had room). They were so welcoming, and the room was pleasant, warm (while Oxford was inundated by snow), and clean. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hi I stayed in the small room at heather house, which is small but £48 b and b in oxford is good. Room not suitable for anyone taller than 5ft 6 but I am 5ft 3 so fine. Loo on landing and bathroom downstairs, not for the shy but robe provided.
New people in charge, a little surprised to be asked for breakfast preference the evening before.
There is parking however you need an average or small car as a bit tight but parking is at a premium locally.
For rating I would have chosen good but no option so chose average. Nice magic cafe nearby for vegan or veggies.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was my third time staying at the Heather House and I felt as welcome as I did before. I stayed at the single room and though it was quite small it was just perfect for me. The Heather House is clean, comfortable and quiet and the lovely hosts did their best that I had everything I needed. Location is good and breakfast just excellent with many options. I can truly recommend the Heather House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaizuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.9 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
1.1 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heather House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather House

Property: Heather House
Address: 192 Iffley Road, Oxford OX4 1SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Heather House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing