We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heather House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heather House
Ranked #5 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great room - nice touches like a quality shortbread biscuit & good (free) wifi. Excellent breakfast. Friendly, welcoming host. Ace. Will stay again...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnbroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    105
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
85
94
72
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Having short listed four guest houses for a weekend stay in Oxford, we opted for Heather House based on its favourable reviews and convenient location in the city. We were pleased to discover these reviews were well-founded as the guest house was clean, comfortable and well-run.

The rooms were spacious and well maintained; breakfast was freshly prepared and substantial enough to set us up for the day and the benefits of off-road parking and free wi-fi were most welcome.

Vivian - the proprietor - and her staff were friendly and professional and ensured we all had a very comfortable stay.

The guest house is located on what is, in fairness, an unremarkable main road into the city. However, it is set back far enough from the road to ensure a peaceful stay and, importantly, is just 10 minutes' walk from the bustling city centre. A multitude of excellent pubs and restaurants are just a few minutes' walk or taxi trip away and regular, reliable bus services can be found just a few yards along the road.

All in all, a very pleasant stay and certainly recommended. Thank you Vivian!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Comfortable stay and very clean. I had a room with a bath. There was Wi-fi, TV, tea kettle in the room and fresh towels. Location is a bit down Iffley Road but only about a 10-15 minute walk to town and the bus stops are across the street or up the road. Good filling English breakfast. Vivian was very helpful in travel advice along with her assistants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aeropostale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to attend a gig at the nearby O2 Academy. Viv invited us in with plenty of information, a guide to the house and room and took our breakfast order. Then we were left to our own devices without anyone bothering us. Perfect.
Her staff is just as courteous and friendly as her and the whole stay was a delight. Clean, warm, light, quiet and relaxing with Oxford city on its doorstep.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We were pleased to have a very WARM welcome at this Guesthouse, as it was such a cold week-end. It was a pleasant place to stay and very convenient for sight-seeing in the City.
Our room was spotlessly clean and had every convenience you would have in a 4-star hotel but at half the price. We had an excellent breakfast prepared to order, with help and advice
on what to see and do in Oxford. We cannot fault Heather House.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Great value, very clean, good sized room, quiet, good homecooked English breakfast, well stocked library, 5 mins walk to Magdalene Bridge. Highly recommended. Thanks Viv. See you next time we come to Oxford.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesnwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

After several bad and middling experiences with Oxford B&B's and hotels, Heather House was a real find. There was a friendly welcome, pleasant room and great breakfast in this spotless B&B. The owner and staff could not have been nicer, the location was perfect for us and we were able to park the car. We shall certainly stay here again but might have to book well ahead to be sure of a vacancy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perdix70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.9 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
1.1 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heather House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather House

Property: Heather House
Address: 192 Iffley Road, Oxford OX4 1SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Heather House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing