We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest, long delivery times and overpriced”

Taberu Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #121 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dishonest, long delivery times and overpriced”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

They charged £5 delivery charge, because apparently we were more than 5 miles away from them, but it's only 4 miles if you take the straight route (not the Ring Road!).

The food took 70 minutes to get here, and was okay, but way too expensive compared to other Sushi places. Also for an order for £37 usually there are some good-will discounts or freebies, but they stuck to the order.

The person taking the order was quite unfriendly too. I would never order there again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waldemar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    40
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good value!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Really fine food from this new eatery. It is a good compliment to the quirky little restaurants already on the Cowley road.

The food came as it was ready, so the four of us were left slightly flabbergasted by the amount we ordered! It didn't matter though as we tucked in to the array of dishes, happily. The variety on the menu was good and the size of the portions was more than in most Japanese restaurants. All in all, a very good experience.

The only downside, I guess would be that it is quite cramped, although I guess this is a traditional thing with Japanese restaurants in Oxford (Edamame). Also, one of the waitresses was not the best English speaker, so there was some confusion over the drinks orders.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesypOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good straightforward Japanese meal”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Six of us went for lunch, and had a good time. Both the decor and service were simple and unfussy, and the food was well-prepared and tasty. Between us we had ramen, bento box, sushi and tempura, and octopus balls, all of which delivered as per spec. I had the bento, with salmon teriyaki, with miso soup, which I ate up happily to the last scrap. I won't say it rivalled the best meals I had in Kyoto, but it seemed very much on par with a normal Japanese lunchtime restaurant. Taberu is a good addition to the Cowley Road

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormageddon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fine Japanese cuisine on Cowley Road!!YUM!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just got home after a well deserved treat, and dont feel over stuffed and I believe it was rather healthy too!Yay!. A fantastic get away from the chaos Christmas brings, and a delightful change from the same old routine. The deep fried chilli squid is the best I've tasted in a long while, and we tried the assorted Sashimi which was really good, the texture of the fish combined extremely well with the ginger , wasabi and soy. I really enjoyed the pork Katsudon!! again a well seasoned and flavoured dish. I was quite surprised how good the Katsu Curry was (with chicken): rich, smooth, tastey and not overpowering. The chardonnay was really good too, just to accompany a really good meal out. The staff were friendly, and the decor seamed correct for the oaccassion : minimalistic with style. Just before we left , a group of 12 arrived and the waitress dealt with them very professionally which was great to see and refreshing and them all seemed to settle in well. We will definately be back! (and order a home delivery too).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinEdwardsADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberu Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Taberu Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing