We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Headington”
Review of Red Mullions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Mullions
Ranked #2 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked at the last minute and the host was great. We stayed 2 nights and had to change rooms but our host made that as easy as possible. He was great; very friendly, kind and helpful. The first room was fantastic. Big and commodious with some luxurious features. Second room was small but we weren't there to stay in and watch TV. Both rooms were spotless with modern clean bathrooms. Breakfast was very good; decent variety of options and the full English was delicious featuring locally-sourced bangers.
We were there to visit family in Headington so the location was ideal for us. It's a bus ride from Oxford City but the stop is outside and they run frequently. In other words, do stay here if you are visiting Oxford even though its not central because it is lovely and easy with a fabulous host. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Hi Peter F,
We are all very grateful for the substantial review of the Red Mullion Guesthouse. As we are close to all the hospitals in Headington, Brookes University, EF English School and less than a 10 minute bus journey to the centre of Oxford we recommend that one books well in advance to prevent disappointment.

we look forward to welcoming you and your family again.

warm regards


Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Red Mullions
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 644 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just a short walk from Brookes, this nice little guest house is perfectly located for visiting a student at Brookes or for graduates and their families attending their ceremony. Superfriendly service and very good, freshly made breakfast à la carte. We also got plenty of good recommendations for other places to eat and drink and enjoyed it very much. The bus stop into town is just outside the door really. Thanks for a memorable weekend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29MaHePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Hi 29MaHePa,

Thank you for leaving such a favourable review of the Red Mullion Guesthouse. We are grateful that you felt that we made you stay a memorable one.


Kind regards


Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was a last minute trip to Oxford and as such my choices were a bit restricted, but based on the trip advisor reviews I chose Red Mullions and am so glad I did.

My husband and myself stayed in the King Room, which was on the front ground floor. Although on a busy road it was quiet and comfortable. The room itself was spacious with a sofa. Red Mullions is very convenient for the City Centre with a good bus service. My husband was there on business and used the bus. However, I decided to walk into Oxford, which took me about twenty five minutes. I certainly needed the exercise after the substantial breakfasts.

The breakfasts were well cooked and plentiful, with plenty of choice.

The staff were friendly and had plenty of recommendations for dinner, including 'The Black Boy' a gastro pub in Old Headington High Street, just a short walk away. Old Headington is lovely and I would certainly back up their recommendation for this restaurant.

I would also recommend the walking tour of Oxford, which departs from the tourist information centre in Broad Street. The guide was informative and really gave an insight into Oxford.

One of the reasons I chose Red Mullions is because they have parking facilities and it was great not to have to worry about this, especially on our last day when we weren't leaving till the afternoon and they allowed us to leave the car there till we were ready to depart.

I only gave it average for value as it is expensive but that is to be expected given it is Oxford. There are cheaper guest houses but you pay for what you get and Red Mullions lives up to the excellent reviews it gets.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Hi taisie,
We are so glad that your stay lived up to the expectations highlighted in previous reviews and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and positive review of the Red Mullions.
We continue to strive to deliver the very best of service and to make our guests as comfortable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards
Luke


Thank you for the comprehensive review of what we offer at the Red Mullions. All of us strive to be the best we can be every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed in family room, it was very clean, cosy and comfortable. The staff were friendly, helpful and good with children.The quality and selection of food for breakfast was excellent with gluten free toasted bread available. Red Mullions is located near local shops and eating places in Headington and also on the main bus route into Oxford.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_p514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hi m_p514,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is rewarding to hear that we are maintaining our high standards & that you all thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future

Warm regards

Luke and the team


Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

From our greeting at the door until we headed to London, we were treated like family at the Red Mullions. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding. We were provided with the kind of extra care that good friends give each other to make sure everyone enjoys their visit to Oxford. Luke runs a tight but friendly ship and is never at a loss when questions arise. The Bell family will be back at the Red Mullions on our next visit to England.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert_B1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hi Robert_B1205,

I hope the London leg of your trip was not too tedious for you what with all the shopping?

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion of the Red Mullions Guesthouse. We really do hope that on your next visit to our shores you choose stay with us again.
My very best regards

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our family of six stayed two nights on a recent driving trip around England. We had two rooms, the family room on the 1st floor which sleeps four people and the twin room on the floor above. The family room is cosy and squeezes in the four beds. It was fine as we had three small children and my wife in that room. Might have struggled a bit if they were all teenagers !

The twin room upstairs is great - decent sized with a lovely view over the back garden. It's in a loft so my son loved the angled ceilings and the sky window which you can open up. Both bathrooms were fine and water pressure was good. Always nice to come back to a hot shower in the evenings !

The hosts were lovely and very helpful with travel trips. The bus stops to and from Oxford city center are right on the doorstep, which makes things so much easier. There was no way we were going to try driving our rented MPV into town ! Getting a bus was easy and it was great to show the kids around my old college Christ Church - probably one of the nicest colleges to walk through as they are set up properly to receive visitors.

The location of Red Mullions was excellent - easy to drive out to Bicester for some outlet shopping and there was ample parking space, though I had to apologise for taking up a lot of it as the rental company had given us a 9-seater instead of a normal MPV !

Finally, I have to mention the breakfast service which was always polite, fast and accurate. The kids loved being able to order up their favourite hot foods in the morning and having a big breakfast makes it a lot easier to motivate them to go walking around town. The wifi worked well and I would happily return again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank SRFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Hi SRFamily,

I hope your onward journey exceeded your expectations?

Thank you so much for such a comprehensive review of the Red Mullion Guesthouse. We are all very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
Our 2 spacious family rooms have 1 double and 2 single beds with an option of an additional camp bed. We also have a very comfortable small family room 1 double and 1 single bed.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very nice and clean. The staff were great and friendly. The rooms neat and the WiFi was free. I loved the breakfast. Parking is a bit tight if you are driving in. Being on the major road can be annoying because on the traffic but it's great for getting about because you are right in the middle great access to buses , taxis and the town. It think it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front are much quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Hi tony0613,

Thank you for the positive review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to do it. It is always satisfying when our efforts are recognised by the people that really matter, our guests.

Kind regards

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.9 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
1.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
2.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mullions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mullions

Address: 23 London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $166 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mullions 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Mullions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing