We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FLeF Very warm welcome”
Review of Red Mullions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Mullions
Ranked #2 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights while my husband visited hospital. Very warm welcome and the service we received during our stay was first class. Tasteful, comfortable and very clean accommodation in perfect location. Lovely breakfast and appreciated the kettle and comforts in room.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hi Fiona L,

We sincerely hope that hubby is recovering well and wish him a speedy recovery. considering all that is on your plate at the moment I do really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards


Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 653 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights with my son who was visiting Oxford University, we were in room 12 (I think) which is at the front of the building at ground level. The room was very cosy and comfortable and, despite facing the main road, we heard very little noise from the street. We had arrived late in the morning, directly from Heathrow on the Airline bus which stops just up the road at Headington Shops, and Luke quickly got our room prepared and ready for us so we could freshen up and head into Oxford, we very much appreciated being able to get into the room so early in the day. Getting into Oxford on the bus was very convenient although it's only a pleasant 30 minute walk into town which we did a couple of times. As others have mentioned, the cooked breakfasts are top notch setting us up nicely for the day. Red Mullions is definitely our 1st choice for future visits to Oxford

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear DBinCA
Thanks so much for your flattering review - much appreciated and we hope to see you again at the Red Mullions in thenear future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We chose this B&B because its location was ideal for the family event we were attending in Oxford and because of the good reviews here and elsewhere - it turned out to be entirely as described. It may be slightly more expensive than some in the area, but in this case the extra did actually seem to buy certainty!
The whole property seemed very well looked after, the room was smartly decorated and clean, the bed was very comfortable and all the facilities worked well - including an excellent power shower - apart from the television which seemed to have been "got at" by the overnight rain (it had worked without a problem on the previous evening, and we were assured that it would be looked at without delay).
The lady in charge made every effort to ensure our comfort - including ensuring a supply of dairy free spread and soya milk for my wife (who has a dairy intolerance) to have with her breakfast. The breakfast itself was extremely good, with a wide range of choice in both the cooked and uncooked departments.
Two small words of warning - although the car park has quite a few spaces, turning into them with a larger car (particularly in the dark and rain) would need extra care - even with our modest hatchback it needed some; also if you pay by credit rather than debit card there is a 2.5% additional charge (not evident when we booked).

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear are away from the traffic noise, although apart from rush hour that didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAH3862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear MAH3862
Thank you for your positive review - much appreciated. It's unfortuante that the TV reception was so fragile with heavy rain...We endeavour to keep having word with God ref the rain and our aeriel engineer to make the reception more stable. Thank you for your understanding in this matter.

For the benefit of other guest reading this response / review, we do make every effort to notify everyone in our telephone bookings, emails and on line booking agents that there is a 2.5% additional charge for payment by credit card. There is also a sign at the Reception desk and on the arrival form. We also take the opportunity to make everyone aware of this charge and hence we allow payment upon departure allowing guests to have the choice of payment.

On a more progressive note....we have permission to take down a couple of large trees which we hope to undertake (and replace in different locations) in the very near future. This will allow us to improve external lighting and create a better turning circle to help with the tip you have shared in your review.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time and effort to provide such a encouraging review.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed one night at Red Mullions on Friday whilst attending an applicant day at Oxford Brooke's Uni. Had a really warm welcome, great advice on where to get the bus (7 mins to Oxford on the bus) and where to eat ( the black boy was well worth the 12 minute walk). Although the family room we had was on the front there was no traffic noise due to the triple glazing. Linen and towels were fresh and clean.
Breakfast was so good we didn't eat lunch!
Fast free Wifi connection, and we were able to leave the car there after we had checked out which was an added bonus whilst we visited the Uni.
Just hoping our daughter is successful in securing a place so we can plan our next vist!
Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Colette C
Your compliments are gratefully received - thank you.
We too hope your daughter is successful in gaining a place at the ever impressive and modern Oxford Brookes University.

Cheers - here's to seeing you in the 2013/14 semester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst we visited oxford looking for somewhere to live. The manager was extremely helpful and gave us advice on a whole range of things including local restaurants and areas to live. The B&B and room it's self was very clean and tidy. It was well decorated and looked after. Breakfast was good and there was a variety of foods on offer. If you are in room 2 just be aware that the shower does run hot and cold. The manager did forewarn us but it still came as a shock half way through the shower!

All in all a great place to stay with easy access to centre of oxford and wider oxfordshire. A definite recommendation!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bathtraveller_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Bathtraveller_01

Thank you for providing useful feedback following your stay at the Red Mullions guest house and the overarching recommendation.

We obviously look forward to welcoming you or your visiting friends on next trip to Oxford and wish you the very best in search for your new home.

Kind regards
Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed just one night while visiting our son. We spent most of our time with him so didn't spend much time in the room. It was recently decorated in good taste. Everything about the room was neat tidy and efficient. The beds were comfortable and the linen of good quality. The only problem we found was that the radiator control was broken and the room ended up overly warm.
Breakfast was good and my vegetarian wife was happy with the selection.
There were a lot of nice touches. Free Wifi that reached our room, books to borrow and also board games. Tourist information was available. Location is good. Handy for buses to Oxford though some way out and a lot cheaper than more central places to stay.
All in all a comfortable stay but were are trying another Headington B&B for our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Crystal58

Thank you so much for your positive comments following your stay. We’ll take a look at the radiator controls which due to their portable nature do at times fall off but gladly you were warm as opposed to being cold. As you say there are more expensive alternatives closer to town, and even though we are 2 miles from the city centre most car users do prefer the free parking we offer as the alternatives have limited parking and costly.

We would gladly recommend The Sandfield guest house in Headington, Paul is a fantastic host and deservedly holds the No 1 spot on tripadvisor.
Once again thank you for your favourable review.

Kind regards
Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

After a very poor experience the last time my wife and I stayed at a 4 star Guest House we vowed we would never use one again. Because of the reason for our visit to Oxford meant we had to stay in Headington, and no modern hotels in the area being available, we looked at the reviews for Guest Houses and with them being consistently good for Red Mullions we decided to take a chance. We feel, now that we are back home, that we couldn`t have chosen better. Our room was large and clean, there was a good choice at breakfast - the cooked part was very nice. On our departure morning our plans had had to be changed and we were left to fill in time for our train - no problem, Luke allowed us to leave our luggage,booked a taxi for the time we needed, and even described a picturesque walk round old Headington to pass the time. One could not ask for better service and we would recommend Red Mullions to anyone.

Room Tip: We chose the King Size Room for more comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear John G

Thank you for such a glowing review and we feel proud to have reignited your interest in staying in 4 star guest house, there are the exceptions but I can assure you we as a team do try our best at all times. Like most businesses, things can go wrong but it's how they are dealt with from a customer point of view that really counts. We only have the one king size room (although we are able to provide several king size bed options) so anyone reading this review needs to book asap using the following booking link on our web page.

Kind regards
Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.9 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
1.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,203 reviews
1.9 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.9 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
715 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mullions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mullions

Address: 23 London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $167 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mullions 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family operated guest house in Headington, Oxford. We have a range of modern and tastefully decorated rooms, all but one have ensuite facilities. It is important to us that our guests enjoy their stay at Red Mullions to this end we have facilities that include as standard in all rooms: Flat screen TV’s with SKY satellite (sports and entertainment channels) Fast free Wi-Fi throughout the building * Coffee/tea making facilities Complimentary water and biscuits Hairdryers In addition we offer all our guests a great choice of breakfast, whether it’s a full English, vegetarian or a continental breakfast, waffles, omelettes or eggs benedict – you will be spoilt for choice! We also aim to accommodate any special dietary needs (advance notice required). We welcome all guests, and are particularly family friendly. For those with young families we can provide cots and highchairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Mullions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing