We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and welcoming B&B”
Review of Red Mullions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Mullions
Ranked #2 of 81 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very nice and welcoming B&B”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a very well-run B&B with everything you could reasonably wish for: clean, comfortable and quiet rooms, a great breakfast (the full English really sets you up for the day), and welcoming and knowledgeable owners. Luke, the owner, gave us a very warm welcome and was more than helpful in giving us tips and info to explore the city (and its pubs). Would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_TRA_-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Paul_TRA_-1,

Glad to see you got home in one piece!

Thank you for the great review.. We all really do strive to achieve our very best every day.

Kind regards


Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    128
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
216
170
63
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The B&B is well located to explore Oxford with a regular bus service stopping outside and journey time of about 10 minutes. Rooms are very clean and fresh. The shower was in the bath and a safety mat was provided to avoid slip ups. We were able to park the car in a generous car park on the property. They gave us a helpful recommendation to dine at The Black Boy which was well worth the 15 minute walk. We would happily stay again and there is no reason not to chose this B&B.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi MeMonster,

Thank you for sharing you your experience of the Red Mullion. We do apreciate all feed back.

Warm regards


Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedrock
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a well run B&B with all of the services one would expect, clean rooms, proper batchrooms, nice breakfast, and decent location. My only complaint is the postage stamp rooms, with not even room for a chair or a place to unfold one's suitcase.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Fred F

Thank you for leaving a review with such favourable points.

I do however feel compelled to clarify the tiny room point.
Our regular guests ( which is a substantial amount) who travel alone prefer a double bed to space around the room even in a single occupancy room. This request is so frequent that we no longer have a single bed in any of our single occupancy rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Oxford.

Kind regards

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A brief but very enjoyable visit. Comfortable bed, clean room, good lighting and the house felt warm and welcoming on a very cold night. Don't miss the cooked breakfast, made with good quality ingredients and served with a friendly smile.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Lis D,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review, the team are always grateful to those that make the effort.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Oxford

Kind regards

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This B&B worked out nicely for our visit to Oxford: a large room with renovated bathroom, parking, great location across from the bus stop and a delicious breakfast the next day. The inn's owner Luke also gave us great advice about how to make the most of our time (and the remaining daylight) after we arrived in town later than planned. The bathroom was perhaps the nicest surprise here, well-renovated with a large shower stall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank washingtondcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear washingtondcgirl,

Thank you for getting 2013 off to such a possitive start for the team at Red Mullions with such a glowing review.
The painting of all the public areas and the replacement of the doors is also complete. Of the16 bedrooms all bar two have now had their bathrooms refurbished.
We look forward to welcoming back sometime soon.

Kind regards

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here last night (room 15), at short notice as I had to visit my Uni, but I was found a room. From arrival to departure very friendly staff, decor was better than you find in many large hotel chains, didn't have breakfast but the smell was tempting. Parking a bit tight if you have a big car, but avoid trying to get in during rush hour as Oxford drivers don't seem to be polite and let you cross the road!!!!

I should be keeping this quiet really as there wont be room for me next time!!!!!

I would be more than happy to stay again when back at the Uni, and good pub just up the road too

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hi Simon S,

Thank you for leaving such a favourable review. Room 15 is one of the 3 new rooms we have added recently.
We look forward to welcoming you on your return to Oxford.

regards


Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

So pleased to find this very well run and comfortable guest house so close to the John Radcliffe Hospital where I visited every day for 8 days. Just 5 minutes walk.
Room and amenities splendid with en suite bathroom and an abundance of hot water. Excellent breakfast with a choice as good as a 5star hotel but always served by the Host in a friendly manner,
He was helpful, informative and very kind at a very strenous period for me and I really felt at peace when I returned each night after my hospital visits. If I ever returned to Oxford I would always seek accommodation at this welcoming house

Room Tip: My first room was No 12 on the ground floor and was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Maureen H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Really sorry I was not here when you left. i sincerely hope that hubby is recovering.
I look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.

Warmest regards


Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.9 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.9 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mullions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mullions

Property: Red Mullions
Address: 23 London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mullions 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Mullions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing