We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Red Mullions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Mullions
Ranked #2 of 81 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at Red Mullions. Everything was spot-on. The service was excellent with staff going out of their way to help in any way. Breakfasts were very good with choices for all. Easy access to the Oxford city with a bus stop right outside the door and a short walk to Headington shops to catch buses to Heathrow, Gatwick or London. Headington also has nice pubs and cafes for eating out. Try Dong Dong noodle bar in Windmill Road for quick and cheap meals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Hi Carol P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review we are all grateful for the wonderful comments.

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey?


Regards


Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    128
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
216
170
63
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We've just returned from a one night stay at Red Mullions and we really can't fault it. Red Mullions is well presented and maintained and Paul is an incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful host. We stayed in Room 15, which although not a big room, had everything we needed, inlcuding a TV and hairdryer. Paul also kindly provided an ironing board and iron when requested. The room is tastefully decorated in neutral tones and was very clean. The breakfast staff were polite, friendly and efficient whilst dealing with the morning rush and my breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. Although not in the centre of town, Red Mullions is conveniently located only a few minutes from town by taxi, bus or a slightly longer walk. I don't think anyone could expect anything more from a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Hi BritneySW,

Thank you for the wonderful review and we are glad that you enjoyed your experience & the service that we offer.

Thanks for the high recommendation,

Kind regards

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed at Red Mullions for 5 nights. Luke is a great host, made me feel very much so at home. Had free wifi, bus stop right outside the guest house. Provided great breakfast every morning and very accommodating in every sense of the word! I even troubled Luke after hours and he was very understanding. Red Mullions is a 10 min walk from the main drop off 'headington shops' stop and 2 mi from 'Oxford city center'. I stayed alone that costed £85.00. Luke even hauled my suit case up and down the stairs:). Enjoyed my stay!

-F.Farooq, VA

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffarooq84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Hi Ffarooq84,

Gald to see you are safely home!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such favourable comments.

iIt was a pleasure to help make you stay a comfortable one and hope to see you again.


Kind regards


Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed for one night on a business trip and was very impressed by the friendliness of the staff and their helpfulness, even extending to checking bus times for the morning and showing me where the bus stop was without me even asking. My room was small but clean and well equipped. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked. For a meal nearby in the evening I'd recommend the Cafe Noir just round the corner, which was also very friendly and perfect for eating alone. This was a tip passed on by the guest house and was another example of their excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi Ellen M,

It is always reassuring that the work we put in is being appreciated.

thank you for sharing your experiences.

Look forward to seeing you again.


Thank you


Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed 1 night for my sister's graduation at Oxford Brookes, Red Mullions is only a 10 min walk from the University and a short bus ride from the city centre. Luke and his staff couldn't have made our stay any better. My room was clean, tidy and with a good bathroom, breakfast was freshly cooked and nothing was too much trouble. Highly reccommended and I'll be back to stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi Liz H,

It was a pleasure to have you here.

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back.


Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked at the last minute and were not disappointed. This was a pleasant stay. The room was comfortable and clean. It is a short walk into town. Breakfast was good and there is ample parking space.

They tried to go the extra mile with biscuits in the room, a DVD player, information about local eateries, but what makes this place special is the owner Luke. Luke was efficient, polite and very welcoming, a gentle soul and wonderful host. I highly recommend Red Mullions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi Shunnie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.

Hope to see you again.


Warm regards


Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Fantastic hosts (Luke & Pami), lovely B&B in a great location (5 mins out of Oxford centre by bus), awesome breakfasts. Will definitely try to stay again if I'm in town!

Room Tip: My king single room was plenty spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi Dave X,

Thank you for the favourable feedback.

Many Thanks


Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.9 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.9 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mullions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mullions

Property: Red Mullions
Address: 23 London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mullions 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Mullions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing