We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Choral Tradition” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Worcester College

Worcester College
Ranked #28 of 172 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oxford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb Choral Tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Worcester College's quirky but lovely chapel conceals hidden gems of architecture but also plays host to fine choral music, beautifully sung which is completely free. In term time, 6:15 Choral Evensong on Monday, Tuesday and Sunday with one of its two top choirs of young people and Choral Eucharist at 6:00 on Thursday feature the English Choral Tradition at its best. A must-see/must-hear if you are staying nearby.

Helpful?
Thank dac3uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    27
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely parkland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Tucked away at the end of Beaumont Street, you enter the grounds and find that you've entered the countryside.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mike_registrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

A lovely college which is a little out of the main college area. The small quad is different as it is only enclosed on three sides. The College chapel is delightful. Do go and look at the animal carvings on the pews. There is an air of calm and dignity while here.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Neptune24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
240 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Gardens!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Worth going through the main buildings just to experience the gardens and water beyond.

Most remarkable thing is how big the grdens and grounds seem given surrounded on all sides by the rest of Oxford.

Definitely worth picking out of the long list of colleges for a visit.

Less than a 10 min walk from the railway station and 1 minute from the bus/coach station. Don't try parking outside!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

I absolutely love Worcester and I have to say it is my favourite Oxford College followed closely by St.Catz's (St. Catherine's). I remember being shown Worcester for the first time by my then boyfriend and just being blown away by the sheer beauty of the place, especially the gardens. The most magical thing for me about Worcester is the huge lake hidden within the grounds! It is soo peaceful, that sometimes I take a walk there just to escape the hustle and bustle of central Oxford. Though Worcester is set apart from the other colleges, it is an absolute gem and I would really recommend a visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank Micheala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Worcester College also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Worcester College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing