We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hpotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Hpotel”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A good hotel in a fabulous setting. Nice welcome in a really fascinating building only a couple of minutes walk from the city centre. I would thoroughly recommend pre booking the car parking for a fee of £25. We had 2 rooms in the House of correction block, both were comfortable, furnished to a high standard and very clean. One room was in the original building with the very small windows and so quite dark & overlooked the yard (515), the other much lighter with full length windows, however these overlooked the service area & recycling bins. (512) We were awoken twice quite late at night by the bottles being thrown into the bins. Great selection of good quality teas,coffee & hot chocolate in room.

Room Tip: Avoid room 512.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreMauricio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear PierreMauricio,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased that overall you had a good experience.

Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed by the bin area, i will once again reiterate to my team and the other businesses that share the site that access to this area is limited to daylight hours.

Thank you and i look forward to seeing you again soon.

Paul Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    891
    442
    201
    106
See reviews for
256
1,719
79
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Enjoyed the stay. Good service with a unique atmosphere and location. A prison would you believe,

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Oxford. My first time in the city so really wanted to make it special. You should look online to find the best deal though. Otherwise It would have been an expensive stay.

Linen was clean, room was tidy and I especially enjoyed the expensive toiletries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Sarah H,

Thanks for the great review, pleased you enjoyed both the hotel and Oxford! Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Paul Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just had a lovely weekend in Oxford for my birthday staying at the Malmaison. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room a decent size and the bathroom was well equipped (although no shampoo) with the bath running hot and deep in minutes. The beds were not that comfortable, a little hard for my liking, but we still managed to sleep until breakfast with the thick curtains blocking out all light. Great breakfast too, the continental option more than satisfied..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soufflet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Soufflet,

Thank you for your review. Some great comments here for us to learn from and make the necessary changes to improve our guests stay. Please be rest assured these have been taken on board and i hope the next time you visit you will experience the benefity of this.

See you again soon!¬

Paul Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fabulous hotel, used for business and pleasure, however since they disbanded their reservations team in house we have failed to find the same level of service for business, bearing in mind the rooms booked per year, around 300 this is disappointing. That said the hotel is second to none and a great location, stunning rooms and I have enjoyed the pleasure of their facilities. highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear jillia B.

Thank you for your feedback, i a m so pleased that you choose to stay with us regualrly and you find the hotel to be fabulous. It is great to receive this feedback, the team will be delighted.

I do understand that since we moved to central reservations it can be frustrating for our regular guests. Please contact me pwatson@malmaison.com and i will ensure we give you the Sales Managers details, as well as our corporate priority booking line that should assist greatly.

I hope we can meet when you visit next.

Warm Regards

Paul Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The rooms at this hotel are excellent. The bathrooms in particular are to be commended. The location is very central; nowhere in central Oxford is more than a five minute stroll away. The restaurant is also very good, particularly for breakfast. Whilst the hotel might be on the pricy side, it provides good value for money and is great for both business and pleasure. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnra4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear dnra4ever,

Thank you for your great feedback. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your full experience, I am also a big fan of our breakfast - having food cooked to order at this time of the day is a real treat.

I do hope we get to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night and thought the hotel was lovely. It's in a great location within easy walking distant of the town centre so once you've parked, you don't need the car again to explore Oxford. On arrival, the outside is very impressive as its housed in the city's old jail. It was busy in reception when I checked in however, I didn't have to wait too long. There had been some issues with our booking which the receptionist was aware of and managed to give some discount on our final bill as compensation. Our room was across the courtyard and had a large window overlooking the garden. The room, whilst compact, was really comfy. The bathroom was a good size and well stocked with the usual Malmaison products.
We ate dinner in the restaurant in the evening. The service was very good, nice atmosphere and good selection on the menu. We both started with the scallops which were well cooked and very tasty. We both had steak for our main course-good piece of meat, again well cooked. God choice of wines and some nice cocktails to choose from too.
Whilst it probably isn't the cheapest place to stay on Oxford, it's definitely worth the money for the uniqueness of the building, the location and good service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raminoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Raminoz,

Thank you for taking the time to write with your feedback, i was pleased to read about your stay and the many areas which you enjoyed. I do hope we will see you again soon.

Paul Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Arriving at the Malmaison is a beautiful site. The outside is absolutely gorgeous. It's the picturesque look and feel of Oxford. I had the chance to check out the remaining original cell which was really interesting. Having been to another hotel, Liberty in Boston, that was converted from an old jail it's very cool how they are able to make it seem so luxurious. While I was only there for one night, the stay overall was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrysOrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear KrysOrz,

Thank you for your great feedback, i was pleased that you had a good time when you were here - lets hope the next time you return we can lock you up in luxury for a little longer!

Kind Regards

Paul Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
3.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.6 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Oxford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Oxford Castle

Property: Malmaison Oxford Castle
Address: 3 Oxford Castle, Oxford OX1 1AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Oxford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Oxford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're tired of doing hard time in run-of-the-mill hotels, it's a completely different story at our former gaol, Malmaison Oxford. Instead sip the coolest cocktails in the free world at MALBAR and enjoy an eclectic mix of classic dishes with a twist at the Brasserie, from freshly caught fish to the famous Mal Burger. Good behaviour will get you privileges like free Wi-Fi, drench showers, plasma TVs and and even toiletries that are just begging to be nabbed by light-fingered guests. This is one hotel in Oxford city centre where you'll be happy to get a long stretch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Malmaison Oxford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Oxford Castle Hotel Oxford
Malmaison Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing