We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely hotel, beautifull food , beds were unbelievable.. Right in the heart of Oxford so great for shopping you won't need your car!! You can also visit the castle as hotel is in the prison grounds very interesting and well worth a visit. Very friendly staff, and beautifull gardens to the rear of hotel so you can relax and enjoy a drink.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eloisebedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,892 - 1,898 of 3,058 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay in a superior cell on A wing (room 133) , the room was spacious and comfortable. A lovely large bathroom with roll top bath and drench shower. Check-in was friendly and efficient. We ate in the Brasserie and could not fault the food, service was also very good, we were particularly impressed by the waitresses knowledge of the menu and recommendations.
If you want a unique stay in a relaxed and stylish hotel this will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nixsy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Only stayed here for one night and we booked into one of the house of correction double rooms, and this is the reason why I only give it 3 stars. Appreciate that I wasn't going to get the character and experience of one of the cell hotel rooms but I was a bit disappointed that the house or correction across the exercise yard appeared to be two very old buildings which were connected by means of a modern structure and the room that we stayed in was in this part which meant that the 'unique' room was not so and didn't have a different feel to many other places I've stayed at.
That said, the room was very spacious and clean and well appointed. Mini-bar prices were fairly reasonable and the rest of the hotel is very well appointed and a great place to look around.
We are due to go back to Oxford in August and not sure if I would stay here again. If we do it would be in one of the 'cell' rooms, although for the price I am veering more towards staying at the Randolph instead. I would recommend having a look there as well as we called in there for a Morse cocktail and it is a very luxurious place and often the prices aren't too far apart.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danpne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've thought for some time about leaving this review. We stayed in a cell room for 3 days since we were in Oxford for a conference and evening formal events. We prebooked parking and had a late arrival. When I phoned to enquire about latest Brasserie times the operator immediately tried to amend our booking to a dinner/bed/breakfast rate rather than bed/breakfast. This would have been ridiculously expensive. First impressions on arrival are superb, the foyer and room appear great. Put up with the fact that our room reservation had been lost (but was there when I rang re dinner booking a couple of hours before). Room appears good - we had cell 221. Until you try to unpack - the lighting is appalling - no bedside lights to read with, no make up lights. The windows do not open and the air conditioning was off - when on it was soooo noisy. The towel rail was off so we had sodden towels in morning. The bed!!! one side fine (mine!!) the other a trench. The cut off wires with attractive blue tape and the stain on the carpet not good. Best of all NO DRAWERs at all. £800+ for 3 nights and we couldn't unpack. Service chaotic and no beers in the bar - bizarre!! Then we were overcharged for a room service breakfast at £27 which we didn't have. This is a hotel designed for one night stays - you would have fun if you had an event to go to and needed bed and breakfast. 3 days forget it. BTW I tries to go to the third floor residents bar and no one was serving, the lawn outside at the back was inaccessible due to filming - but no one mentioned the roof lawn as an alternative and there are no obvious signs to this ANYWHERE. No water in the room and 1 biscuit in a double room are silly.We actually had a great time -this could be a fantastic hotel for absolutely no mre investment than decent management and for no extra cost - what a waste of a brilliant concept. This is the only hotel I have stayed in whre I feel that the customer has been treated with total disdain rather than than the profit making force behind the business - a complacency due to the vast make up being overseas tour groups - what a shame when it could be so good with a decent management and effective attention to detail.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiceroMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Really well located, in the Oxford castle complex so therefore on the doorstep of a few restaurants and bars, although mostly chain ones. City centre is 5-10 minute walk so not bad at all. Situated right next to the historical and atmospheric Oxford castle, the hotel itself is an old prison so a lot of the feature rooms are actually old cells (done up obviously!) but we stayed in the less interesting outhouse section. Room was still nice and modern and comfortable. The best bit about this hotel is undoubtably the location, the walk up to the front of the hotel which has a grand entrance and a huge chandelier!! And the upstairs "penthouse" bar is unmissable. Only accessible by a lift, it's very plush and well worth a quick visit even if just for a cocktail or two (the drinks can be quite pricey in here) food in the restaurant is good..this is in a old part of the prison. All in all a great way to experience the delights of Oxford.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have just spent a night in this hotel (18th June). We had a superior cell room on A wing room 121. The rooms and the lobby are stunning although the bed in this room was very hard and uncomfortable. The room is also next door to the linen room for room attendants so we were woken up at 7 with them chatting outside our door.

Cannot fault the rooms or the building but unfortunately I would not return here as the service in the brasserie was awful.
We were on a DBB package and waited a very long time to be attended to, even for some water. The dinner package menu was very limited ccompared to the main menu but overall the service was very slow and no one knew what they were doing. We ended up leaving and not having dessert as we felt very uncomfortable with the atmosphere. They then had the cheek to ask us for a £4.85 service charge, which we did not pay.
Just had breakfast and that was an absolute shambles. Waitresses jetting orders confused and arguing, very uncomfortable.
Oh and on another note, be prepared to pay £25 for parking.

Free wifi is available though which enabled me to put this feedback on here.

Will not be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lassio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

After 2 previous experiences of Malmaison, 1 good hotel stay and breakfast and 1 not so good Restaurant experience, we thought we would give the Restaurant another chance on our 10th anniversary. However we found the same disappointing service, no greeting at all from the Restaurant staff when we arrived, we had to get our own drinks from the bar and take out to the garden whilst waiting for the rest of our party. Once in the Restaurant we were given a 'cell' to ourselves as there were 8 in the party, at first we thought this was great but then discovered it was cold and there was no atmosphere and we felt like we were forgotten. Music would have been good. Service extremely slow, from taking our seats to getting our first drink was over 20 mins, the waitress got the drinks wrong. Another long wait for our order to be taken, cheapest wine was £26 a bottle. The bread and olives arrived same time as the starters. All the main courses were luke warm and the new potatoes were re-heated. We thought the reason for the slow service must be because the restaurant was full, but on leaving there was no one else evident in the. I wrote to complain and had a reply immediately from customer services but to this day have never received a reply from the Restaurant Manager despite him having two reminders from me. Very disappointed, when you pay over the average you expect over the average quality and service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
735 reviews
3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Oxford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Oxford Castle

Address: 3 Oxford Castle New Road, Oxford OX1 1AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Oxford
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $192 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Oxford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're tired of doing hard time in run-of-the-mill hotels, it's a completely different story at our former gaol, Malmaison Oxford. Instead sip the coolest cocktails in the free world at MALBAR and enjoy an eclectic mix of classic dishes with a twist at the Brasserie, from freshly caught fish to the famous Mal Burger. Good behaviour will get you privileges like free Wi-Fi, drench showers, plasma TVs and and even toiletries that are just begging to be nabbed by light-fingered guests. This is one hotel in Oxford city centre where you'll be happy to get a long stretch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Oxford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Oxford Castle Hotel Oxford
Malmaison Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing