We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the city”

University of Oxford Botanic Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.01*
and up
Walking and Biking Tour of Oxford
Ranked #14 of 177 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An oasis in the city”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our morning stroll around the gardens was very enjoyable. The highlight was the huge pine planted in 1800 which has grown knarled into a fantastic shape ... Reminded us of Tolkein's Ents! The gardenis quietly wild ... Not the trimmed to an inch of its life type ... The water adds to the pleasure ... It is a little expensive but needs upkeep so we felt that we were contributing to that in a small way. There are plenty of coffee places on the street nearby ...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RubaSkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    248
    87
    21
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting collection of plants and trees in a peaceful setting.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you're feeling the pressure of seeing all those old historic buildings then a visit to the Botanic Garden is a great place to take a break. We were a bit surprised to have to pay to get in but we were impressed by the garden's natural appearance-a little wild but nicely cultivated, and we particularly enjoyed looking at the medicinal plants, the large number of unusual trees and the big pumpkin! The garden has wooden benches here and there and you could sit in the shade and eat your lunch should you wish to. I would recommend it to all visitors to Oxford.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ipalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous gardens”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

It is not difficult to while away a morning or afternoon here. We kept our ticket from the morning which we were able to use again later on the same day. The helpful staff offered to look after our shopping bags in the afternoon. We were offered a free coffee and biscuit in the Palm House. There are so many interesting facts about trees and plants. It must be the oldest and best Botanical Gardens in the world!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annelies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very romantic stroll!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was beautifully kept up. There were people on boats gliding down the River Cherwell as we strolled around. It was a wonderful atmosphere and I would love to go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Walking in the Garden”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There is so much to see here, regardless of the season, although summer of course is the best. There's an extremely old oak tree there.Different flowers in different seasons (obviously). The Garden is the oldest in England, is lovely to stroll through into the meadow and see Magdalen College and Bridge, around the backs of Colleges to Christ Church College, along the river to watch the punts or rowers. A very pleasurable afternoon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LimeyVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Oxford Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to University of Oxford Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing