We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and relaxing oasis in the hustle and bustle of the city.”

University of Oxford Botanic Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.77*
and up
Walking and Biking Tour of Oxford
Ranked #14 of 177 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing oasis in the hustle and bustle of the city.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our family love the Botanic Gardens. The hot houses are great to visit.....especially in the winter when it's cold and wet outside. It's lovely to sit on the bank of the river and watch the shrieking tourists attempting to punt past in the summer. They often have themed events aimed at families which are always good fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank chocolocomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    233
    84
    21
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sorry - we're having repair works done”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Would have liked to visit the Botanic gardens but they were maintaining the greenhouses so we couldn't go there. We could pay the total price to visit the gardens though which we found a scam!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrsguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Warden
Level Contributor
181 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Flowers to enchant the soul”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Fabulous specimens of flowers, trees and plants of all kind, some familiar and some very exotic. Well worth a visit, as it is central in Oxford, relaxing and beautiful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Whitestarlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We enjoyed our trip around the Botanic gardens. The plan provided gave us information on the various areas and the type of plants. The greenhouses, with the exotic plants were interesting. They even had bananas growing in one greenhouse.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2MonkeyHangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A floral lung”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

With all the college gardens, Oxford is pretty weel blessed with "green lungs". The university combines very well tended and attractive gardens with its collection of plants. For me, this is one of Oxford's best sights.

Helpful?
Thank RamblingRose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Oxford Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to University of Oxford Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing