We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Margarets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Margarets Hotel
Ranked #29 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is an excellent place for a solo traveller, the room is clean and friendly, with a comfortable bad and a very nice bathroom. Situated in a walking distance from the city centre, it’s also well served by the public transport. Nearby zone with a very good restaurants and Mr. Anton to answer all your questions – what else!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton K, General Manager at St Margarets Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We very much appreciate your positive review of our property. We are committed to providing personalized service and best facilities to all of our guests. We look forward to another opportunity to host you at The St Margarets Hotel. Once again, thank you for your positive comments.
Best Wishes

Anton
+44 (0)1865 433 864
anton@thestmargaretshotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
27
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

An overnight business stay at this well located hotel provided all I required and everything I expected. It is situated in a quiet road and yet is within comfortable walking distance of the city centre. The room was very clean and comfortable with plenty of room and all I needed. The fact that the only times I needed to speak to the manager were on arriving and departing speaks volumes for the forethought that has gone into the facilities provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here for two nights for our son's Graduation. We were given a friendly welcome by Anton who was most helpful throughout our stay. The accommodation was spacious, comfortable and airy. We particularly enjoyed the quiet and yet it was a short bus away from the city centre. We thought the hotel was very good value and suited our needs perfectly. We had the added bonus of discovering The Oxford Kitchen within walking distance which was quite outstanding.

Room Tip: We had the king size double which was very spacious with ensuite bathroom off our own vestibule.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The location is ideal for walking into Oxford. The room was large, spotlessly clean and warm.
Breakfast was very good and far more than the usual continental. There is sufficient car parking for 4 to 5 cars off the road.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very nice stay as the rooms are large and spacious. There was plenty of space for our luggage and the room facilities were good. The steam iron and ironing board where very useful. The staff are friendly, polite and helpful. As we had to leave before the official breakfast time, the staff kindly organised for us to have a proper breakfast at an earlier time. The location was ideally situated for the city centre and it is a short pleasant walk to the nearby University Park.

Room Tip: The family room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The room is big and clean, the garden is very traditional English Garden. Staff is very nice and helpful. It is in a good location, beautiful and quiet, I even went out for a troll in the morning. I checked in nearly midnight, Tim waited and welcomed me. During the breakfast I asked the lady who served the breakfast about where to visit in oxford. She told me nearby place like Oxford natural history museum, Oxford university park... She showed me google map as well. Yes, it is a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Regents park college room has very good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhidao X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Well located and not expensive, with a lovely back garden and conservatory, this hotel just changed hands so maybe management needs a few weeks to iron out issues. The attentive owner apologized that the bathtub was missing a handle for the hot water tap, though shower worked; the toilet lid was also missing and there were no water glasses. A few photographs or pictures would have brightened up the otherwise comfortable room. The continental breakfast consisted of mostly sugary cereals in small boxes, fruit, croissants and a very limited number of yogurts. There was no brewed decaf coffee; there were no decaf tea bags. Simply by providing a healthier range of cereals, including porridge oats (very cheap), brewed decaf coffee and decaf tea bags, and a more plentiful supply of yogurts plus some hard-boiled eggs, the breakfast could have been much more enjoyable. My gluten-intolerant friend could only have fruit as the yogurts ran out. Tip: stay in back rooms if you are a light sleeper; you may hear the bells across the church chime on the hour otherwise.

Room Tip: Stay in the garden-facing rooms or you may hear the church bells toll all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaroldandScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton K, General Manager at St Margarets Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We are under the new management from March 2014, and investing additional capital in updating the hotel interior as well as other areas of the property. We appreciate your business, and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best Wishes
Anton
+44 (0)1865 433 864
anton@thestmargaretshotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#14 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parklands B&B
Parklands B&B
#10 of 84 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#17 of 84 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marlborough House Hotel
Marlborough House Hotel
#33 of 84 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Mullions
Red Mullions
#2 of 84 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Margarets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Margarets Hotel

Property: St Margarets Hotel
Address: 41 St. Margarets Road, Oxford OX2 6LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Margarets Hotel is perfectly located for holidays and short breaks in Oxford and Oxfordshire. The hotel is on the edge of the University Campus and close to Oxford city centre. The St Margarets Hotel is the ideal place to stay when exploring Oxford and the surrounding area. This Oxford hotel boasts 12 luxury Victorian style bedrooms with modern facilities and complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your St Margarets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing