We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asian Mama

Asian Mama
Ranked #233 of 622 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

A rare child free night calls for a meal out and we selected Asian Mama on the strength of the menu and the occupants inside eating and queuing for takeaway - we were not disappointed. It's not high end - so paper tablecloths but the food was amazing. We shared duck pancakes to start, followed by egg fried rice and chilli beef (crisp, flavoursome), chicken in blackbean ( plentiful, crisp vegetables too) and pork in garlic and ginger (superb!). All generous portions and part of a set menu (B) at £12.80 a head. Brilliant value and the service was great, polite and friendly. Drinks expensive £3.30 for half a pint, but can not fault the food - plus they offered to pack up the leftovers without prompting. Can't wait to return.

Helpful?
Thank Frugal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Popped in on a Sunday evening only 3 other diners but all chinese (usually a good sign). Very prompt polite service and decent food and portion sizes. Took pot luck on this restaurant having just dropped my daughter off to Uni so was pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Solent66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Super Food, well served, in fact I cant find any negative for this one, its now my go to for Chinese food its a little more expensive than some of it competitors but the food is worlds apart I guarantee you'll want more and if your in to salt and pepper wings your in for a treat!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tigers240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
206 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Food good but poor grasp of English.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Shared a duck starter (plentiful) and then shared a mixed meat curry, sweet and sour chicken, rice and chips. Plentiful food. Too many chips, I would've liked a half portion option. Service was good, although the two waitresses were also doing take away too! I stated that the sweet and sour sauce was very spicy and appeared to be with chilli. I was told not, but later the first waitress had to ask the other one to speak to me, as she couldn't express herself in English. It transpires that I had garlic and chilli, rather than sweet and sour!! I was given the bill. But after I paid by credit card, their lack of English became more apparent. I went to keep the bill, but they tried to take it away. I said I wanted to keep it, but they said I couldn't. Then they tried to reprint my credit card receipt. Or handwrite another. I said I wanted the original. Eventually they realised what I was saying and said they needed it to show their boss! So I gave up. We had gone round in circles for awhile. Their English was adequate if you keep to the menu only! No discount for the wrong meal either!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller-pg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Ordered a take away for delivery to our house and once it was delivered I found my wonton soup floating at the bottom of the bag as the lid had broken and the food Luke warm. I called Asian mama and they said there was nothing they could do for me, and having asked if they would replace it, have a free one on next order or get a discount they said no. I told them They would loose my custom and i was then offered a free wonton soup next time, unfortunately the customer service was poor and first impressions count, my husband and I were not impressed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruthy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Mama also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Asian Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing