We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful country retreat!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Stable lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Picture of deer early one morning
Cabins views
Bedroom view
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bobbysox...
Telford,England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A peaceful country retreat!”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Ideal location to explore Oxfordshire countryside. Comfortable accommodation for a couple or young family. Short walk to village and 4 miles to nearest park and ride. Fitted out to a high standard, easy to use heating and cooking facilities. Would have been nice to meet the owner but they trusted us enough to leave key in door on arrival and we could have contacted them if there were any real problems. A little bit of attention to detail and I would have given top marks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBro...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful however poor communication”
Reviewed March 19, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Lodge itself is beautiful, lovely surroundings and internally very pleasing on the eye, clean and comfortable.
The reason however was for the pro communication before and during the stay.
A week before a message was sent to the owner regarding the process of picking up the keys to which this went unanswered.
The day of stay, both myself and my partner used several forms of communication to get in contact, from email, whatsapp, text message and call to the point we were considering pulling out of the booking as we were both travelling from different ends of the country.

Eventually i received a call detailing the query late in the afternoon.

Upon arrival the lodge was cold with no running water or heating, a call was made at around 5pm and was not resolved until around 10pm meaning on a cold evening there was no heat, no way of cooking or bathing.

Now this can happen and the event itself isn't contributing to the review score but again, the lack of communication, and with the details above - what felt like a complete lack of care for paying guests.

Sometimes events are out of peoples control however its the response that is remembered, personally a heartfelt apology after i know the situation is resolved and maybe something so pimple as a bottle of wine/flowers/chocolates etc - this gesture would have created a much more favourable review.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the lodge in general
Liked least: The customer service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwfrydg48
Parker, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfectly Peaceful”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful week while visiting family and friends. It was the perfect place to retreat to at the end of each day. We had great weather so were able to sit out and have a drink in the evenings while watching the horses, a fox and a pair of nesting (we think) pheasants.

Mark, and everyone we encountered, were friendly and helpful and we heartily recommend this rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fromonthe...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“& back again”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Peaceful yet handy location close to Oxford. Lovely space - nice to be able to 'host' family we had come to see. Some random organisation of kitchen equipment ( e.g. glasses that only fit lying around in a drawer???) otherwise everything was fab. Will no doubt be back before the end of the year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teej52
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace & Tranquility - a unique find”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic place. We wanted somewhere for a short break with our dog away from a busy lifestyle. This place was a great find - a well furnished single storey property tucked away in the Oxfordshire countryside but still close enough to great facilities. A truly relaxing break was enjoyed by the three of us.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouradiss...
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed February 7, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We have spent a lovely week in the lodge. It's a very calm and relaxing place. The perfect place to escape from the nuisance of big cities. Lovely atmosphere and nature surrounding it, especially the beautiful horses and birds outside. It's more beautiful than what the pictures say. The furniture and the design inside is just charming. One thing is for sure, this place has been designed with love and affection. We have already planned on which date to return there and would definitely recommend it.

Thank you so much for such lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fromonthe...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We wanted a dog friendly short stay let near to Oxford to visit family. The Stables proved to be just perfect for us. It is a delightful lodge, with a lovely open plan living area & a decent bedroom & shower room. It is very accessible (with a car) into the city. We certainly expect to book again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing