We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect rental is a delightful Oxford village”
other travelers have booked this property
Midsomer Cottage is in a charming riverside village within the ring road, close to public transport
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Midsomer Cottage is in a charming riverside village within the ring road, close to public transport
The living room is light,airy, and comfortably furnished with sofa, easy chairs and TV. Cable WiFi The living space flows into the dining / kitchen, creating a sense of spaciousness.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Midsomer Cottage is in a charming riverside village within the ring road, close to public transport
The living room is light,airy, and comfortably furnished with sofa, easy chairs and TV. Cable WiFi
The living space flows into the dining / kitchen, creating a sense of spaciousness.
The well fitted  Breakfast/Kitchen offers a dishwasher, washing machine, fridge-freezer & microwave.
Windows on two sides gives pleasant views, particularly when the Magnolia tree is in blossom.
The kitchen opens on to a wooden deck, long gravelled garden with magnificent trees. Table & chairs.
The main bedroom offers a King bed, convertible to two twins. A range of wardrobes & TV.
The en suite offers a shower, washbasin and toilet.
The back bedroom has a double bed, range of wardrobes, and TV.
The main bathroom has a bath and shower, wash basin and toilet.
The twin bedroom on the 2nd floor is accessed by a paddle staircase - unsuitable for v young/elderly
The twin bedroom on 2nd floor is charming, with great views. There is a wash basin, but no toilet.
Hawkwell House Hotel is across the road from the cottage, and welcomes non residents
Ponies are a favourite with visiting children, as they stroll from cottage to shop, church & river.
The Tree Hotel specialises in European and Eastern cuisine, & offers a Sunday buffet lunch.
The Prince of Wales has a good restaurant, and is open during normal opening hours.
Iffley Village Shop is run by villagers, and offers a good selection of groceries. Closed Wed PM.
The village hall in Church Way where coffee is served after morning service on Sundays
Paying a thought to the famous Chestnut Tree at the end Church Way, which is nearing it's life's end
St Mary's Church is of great historic interest, and is famous for it's Piper window.
The interior of St Mary's Church is stunning.
Once you've explored the village, you'll arrive at Iffley Lock, where you can sit and dream.
This beautiful setting speaks for it's self. You are only 30 mins walk along the tow path to Oxford.
Manager Cheryl Sharp
will welcome you on arrival, & ensure your  stay is comfortable.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Susan W
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
“Perfect rental is a delightful Oxford village”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I had rented flats in Oxford for the last three years, but were never quite satisfied with the modern places in which we stayed. This year we had the amazing good luck to come across Midsomer Cottage in the village of Iffley. We had found our perfect Oxford rental! Midsomer Cottage was a pure delight - full of character, well-equipped, spotless, and in the middle of Iffley, which we loved. Walking the towpath from Iffley to Oxford became part of our daily routine during our two-week stay. Visiting the Village Shop and dinner at the Prince of Wales several times - we felt as if we were part of village life. Owner Sue Trevor-Wilson responded promptly via email during the booking process and Midsomer's manager, Cheryl Sharp couldn't have been more warm and welcoming - including having a huge welcome basket waiting for us when we arrived. Truly a dream come true. We look forward to our next stay at Midsomer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2016
We're so very proud that we succeeded in making your dreams come true! What a fantastic tribute - thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray-th...
Goderich, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful Merry Christmas Atmosphere. Excellent for family celebration.”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Midsomer Cottage is the perfect place for a small family 4 adults and 1 - 3 year old to spend the Christmas holiday. Sue and Cheryl were the spirit of Christmas and Generosity. A Christmas tree greeted our arrival. We ordered Christmas Dinner from M&S and used the Midsomer Cottage kitchen to put it all together. The lounge is a refuge after a busy day site seeing. The bedrooms are cosy and comfortable. Everything is clean and sparkles. We walked along the canal into Oxford several times. The weather cooperated. Perfect place winter or summer.! Two pubs are close at hand. The village church had a super Christmas event for kids. I'd give this accommodation 10 stars instead of 5 if I could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet street in Iffley; the generous nature of our hosts Sue & Cheryl, the garden, etc.
Liked least: Access to the 3rd bedroom on the 3rd floor is a bit tricky but we didn't need it.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2016
We're so glad the cottage exceeded your expectations, which is our aim! Do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location, well managed”
Reviewed December 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Iffley is a fantastic spot to visit Oxford. The walk along the river into town is lovely, even in winter, and beats being stuck in a car or bus along the approach roads (though the bus service is frequent). The village church is very friendly especially for young children, and the pub and community-run shop also very welcome. The house is great, and the manager (Cheryl) is exceptionally hospitable. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cheryl! Willing to go the extra mile in making us feel welcome.
Liked least: A combined washer/drier - slow and not entirely effective as a drier. Better than nothing though.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjmachek
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely and well equipped cottage in charming Iffley Village”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were just delighted with the charm and warmth of Midsomer Cottage. We were warmly welcomed and immediately felt at home. The cottage is nicely located with easy bus access to Oxford and driving distance to the Cotswolds and many other holiday attractions. Many local maps and brochures with touring information were available. The kitchen was very well equipped and was a lovely room with lots of light and counter space.The three bedrooms were spacious and charming. We wished we had more time to explore the village and canal walk into Oxford. Excellent pub with great food within walking distance. Don't miss the looking into the church in Iffley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and cosy atmosphe
Liked least: Not able to use credit card for payment
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janina112...
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay in Iffley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoiuy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2016
Thank you for your kind words, and for being such lovely guests. You went to great lengths to leave the cottage as you found it on arrival, which was very much appreciated. We hope to seeing you again, together with some of your Spanish friends and families.
Warmest wishes from UK,
Sue and Cheryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing