We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“English afternoon tea was super”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
473 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“English afternoon tea was super”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

A friend kindly invited me to afternoon tea. The food was just as good as any London hotel - the selection of sandwiches, cakes and deserts was super! No rushing - we had the table for as long as we needed it. Waitress was attentive and friendly but she was the only one on duty so service was a bit hit and miss. Restaurant is small & in the basement but felt cosy & unique. Central location - just off cornmarket street (with all the high st shops).

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Jilyf,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent visit to Vanbrugh House hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your afternoon tea and found it of a high standard. It pleases me to hear you found our waitress friendly and attentive but I will be looking into your constructive comments regarding service. It is comments such as these that are so helpful in our commitment to exceed customer expectations.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    180
    48
    16
    12
See reviews for
92
340
36
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Read the reviews on here and got exactly what we hoped for. Great service, great value and just what we wanted. Starters on the table within 10 minutes, Steak was cooked perfectly with frites and peppercorn sauce followed by a superb Apple tarte with Vanilla Ice Cream with Calvados to top things off. Now, time for bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Kevin J,

What a superb little review, written whilst here I presume ! It pleases me to hear that you booked having read our reviews on Trip Advisor. We really do welcome all our guest comments, good,constructive or otherwise, as it is only with customer feedback that we can begin to exceed customer expectations, all of the time. Your comments have been passed on to the chef.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I took my daughter here for afternoon tea for her birthday after a shopping trip around Oxford. Lovely selection of sandwiches and cakes - more than enough to eat and delicious. Quite a quirky place - which I like but very friendly staff and will definitely return

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinejmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear carolinejmorg,

I am so pleased that both yourself and your daughter enjoyed the visit to Vanbrugh House Hotel. Our afternoon tea service is very popular and a great way to celebrate those special occasions. I am glad that the service you received, and the hotels unique style were to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards,

David Robinson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked a two night stay at the Vanbrugh House after reading the positive reviews online. The hotel is very close to the central bus station. We arrived several hours before check in but luckily our room was ready. The reception staff was friendly and showed us to our room. The room was on the small side. You had to be very careful walking between the foot of the bed and the chest the TV was sitting on. We hit our legs on it several times. The bed was too firm for me. I woke up with a backache each morning. The bathroom was nice with a window that could be opened and a big shower. As noted in other reviews the free minibar was a nice touch. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening as well as breakfast in the morning. Both the food and service were good. You may want to ask for a larger sized room if you consider staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCoastRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear EastCoastRoadWarrior,

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Vanbrugh House. The hotels location really is a talking point amongst our guests.Situated in the very heart of Oxford, our central location means we are only moments away from the theatres, museums, restaurants and also all road and rail links.
I am glad you enjoyed your time spent in the restaurant and that the food and service was received to the high standard intended. I will pass your comments on to the chef and the team.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

A small yet spacious hotel.

My partner and I stayed in the Nicholas Hawksmoor room for one night at the end of March for an anniversary. We were greeted by a lovely receptionist who assisted us with our check-in and showed us to our room. The room was spacious with a terrace area. The bathroom was nice and clean but a bit small and the tea and coffee facilities were a nice touch, as was the mini bar.

The sleeping quarters were a decent size and we loved the garden terrace, even if we didn't get to use it much due to our short stay.

Breakfast was of a good quality, with plenty to choose from (both hot and cold dishes). Overall the hotel was of a good quality and value. We would recommend it to others looking for a well situated hotel in Oxford.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley_xox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Kimberley_xox,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The Nicholas Hawksmoor room is one of my personal favourites. Bringing together Georgian design and contemporary styling, this spacious room as you mentioned also benefits from its own city garden! Here you can relax in this unique setting, complemented by room service to your bedroom or terrace

.I thank you in advance for your future recommendations to others.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had a 50th birthday gift from my friends for Afternoon Tea and glass of bubbly at Vanbrugh House Hotel. I had never done anything like this before so wasn't sure what to expect. I took along a friend and we spent a few hours shopping then headed to the hotel for 3pm. We were looked after from start to finish. We had a lovely glass of Prosseco on arrival, a pot of tea and a stack of treats from finger sandwich selection, freshly made scones and jam, chocolate heaven in a shot glass and bite size fudge pieces. It was a lovely treat, the hotel was perfect being in the centre of Oxford and a lovely afternoon that made us feel very special. Thanks to Kim, Denise, Julie and Frieda at work for this lovely present. and Thanks to the hotel for a lovely afternoon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Nicola S,

I am so pleased you had the opportunity to visit Vanbrugh House as part of your birthday celebrations. Our location in the very heart of Oxford ensures our guests can immerse themselves in a spot of retail therapy, walk round one of the museums or just view the cities beautiful architecture, before coming to indulge in afternoon tea at the hotel. I am glad that the team provided you with the high standard of service which is intended.

We look forward to welcoming you at Vanbrugh House again soon.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My partner took me away for a night in Oxford as a Birthday gift. Knowing I like hotels with a bit of personality she booked the Vanbrugh House Hotel after looking online.

It is a 10 minute walk from Oxford station and is really very central to everything. Station and castle to the West, right next to the high street, colleges to the East and museums to the North. The only downside was one common to all city centre hotels - on Saturday night we could hear music from local clubs. But that's a problem with location, not the hotel. The matress was on the hard side for me, but that made it perfect for my partner.

Each room is individually designed and named - we were in 'The Bastion'. The room was cosy but very weel appointed with designer fittings. The TV had a media center where you could plug in your own devices (HDMI, scart, PC, composite etc). The bathroom was very well fitted our with an excellent shower and nice toiletries. The mini fridge had complimentry snacks and drinks (Coke, diet Coke, crisps, Kit Kat and best of all fresh milk for your tea!). A selection of teas and coffees with biscuits.

We had dinner in the small dining area and even at 8PM on a Saturday night we were alone there with just one other couple. The meal was a special menu for mothers day and we had a lovely meal with great wine. Hotel residents also get a 15% off voucher!

Breakfast was more busy and was decent by hotel standards. It just offered the usual fry up and continental mix but was as nice as any other hotel's standard mix.

The staff were friendly and very helpful. They suggested places to eat and where the attractions were.

If you want a boutique hotel with personality that's right in the heart of Oxford the Vanbrugh House Hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: Each room is different, it pays to ask what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VelvetPresley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Velvetpresley,

Thank you for taking the time to write your five star review. Vanbrugh House as you have quite rightly noted, has got personality in abundance. Being housed in a historic grade two listed property, with no two rooms being the same, the hotel is furnished with eclectic fixtures and fittings. This combined with our passion for customer service, encourages our guests to leave reviews such as yours. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
3.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanbrugh House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanbrugh House Hotel

Property: Vanbrugh House Hotel
Address: Vanburgh House 20-24 St. Michaels Street, Oxford OX1 2EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vanbrugh House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vanbrugh House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing