We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a truly third wave coffee shop!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quarter Horse Coffee

Quarter Horse Coffee
Ranked #8 of 36 Coffee & Tea in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We serve speciality coffee and loose leaf teas. We offer baked goods, sandwiches and soup. Come in for our handcrafted drinks, retail coffee and tea items, and free WiFi. We look forward to seeing you.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a truly third wave coffee shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I didn't taste cakes and pastries but they looked pure and tempting. Their espresso was great ( a blend from Square Mile coffee roasters in London). Not bitter at all, full bodied with a lasting and satisfying finish. I had a flat white as well the next day and it was at the right size with the right quantity of milk :). By far the best coffee house in Oxford, a town with a long history in coffee. They have a Synesso Hydra (I had never seen before in England) and they know how to use it. The interior is quite simple and cosy but without sofas with wooden tables and the music is independent too! It surely worths a visit (per day).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MKLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    16
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Oxford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Forget all about Costa and Starbucks. This place is in another league. Best coffee around, great atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank DominicClifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good coffee, nice atmosphere and staff who know their stuff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Quite unassuming from the outside, this is a gem of a coffee shop. The staff are very friendly and knowledgable and clearly know how to make a decent cup of coffee! Haven't tried any of the food yet but will come back to try some as it looked good on my first visit.

Would have given 5 stars but the decor isn't rally my thing and is a bit austere for me... I know some people like that but not quite to my taste.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbsolutPeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly environment, quirky.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The only mark-down I give for this place is the lack of a toilet being made available to customers and the advice being to go to the nearby Nando's and use their facilities... which didn't quite work out as Nando's was very quiet and I didn't think I'd get away with it. So, instead, I chose more busy establishment further down the road - and used their facilities. Far worse acts of exploitation are carried out within a close vicinity of where I relieved my bladder - but even so, I don't think it is really "fair" in the grande scheme of things to exploit other's facilities in lieu (no phonetic pun intended) of providing your own.

After this initial adventure, I returned. I ordered the winter root vegetable soup with barley, which came with great bread. My girlfriend ordered the salami and cheese sandwich - also made using great bread. Both snacks were good and the value was ok.

The place is lifted to my taste (so far, this - my second visit), by the ambiance, simple decor, friendly atmosphere and so on. If you are irritated by students and open laptops at tables - or about sharing a table, then you might struggle here from time-to-time. Coffee beans can be bought, cake-type things, and there is some art on the walls.

If you were having a bad day and feeling cynical about life, you might interpret the cosiness amongst patrons and staff as smugness - rather than snugness... but hey - you'd have to be having a really stinky, life un-affirming day (but just watch yourself there, Quarter Horse Coffee!).

Try it - you might like it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pedrov_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan R, Manager at Quarter Horse Coffee, responded to this review, February 8, 2015
Thanks for your review. Sorry for our lack of bathroom. I am glad that your enjoyed our space and our coffee. I hope our closeness to our customers is always positive and not neglecting others. Thanks again for writing the review and hopefully we will see you soon.

Nathan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

The best tea and coffee in Oxford. The only place I know that really care about the coffee they serve. Great place to relax.

Helpful?
Thank Leor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan R, Manager at Quarter Horse Coffee, responded to this review, February 8, 2015
Thanks for the review. We do care that you get the type of coffee you want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quarter Horse Coffee also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Quarter Horse Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing