We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch”
Review of Seven Stars

Seven Stars
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/21
8:00 PM
Ranked #31 of 815 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In 2013 the Seven Stars was bought by the local community who afforded the opportunity of running their pub to a local tenant. The pub is set in the stunning village of Marsh Baldon, which is just off the A4074 by Nuneham Courtenay and just 3 miles from Oxford.The pub is set up to serve good British pub food from open until 9pm every day and is a central part of the bustling local community.With a great garden and set right next to the largest village green in Europe the outside area is ideal for walkers and is also dog friendly. The local area also includes the Harcourt Arboretum for all those loving their outdoor walks.As part of their plan for the pub the local community has also invested in the conversion of existing buildings to make an additional restaurant space. This converted barn space opened in November 2013, with views south over the countryside it has proven to be an excellent addition to the ambiance of the pub. Now with the garden having been re-turfed, new furniture, adding in garden games for the kids and an Aunt Sally track it is a great spot to while away your day. We look forward to welcoming you to our pub soon.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just got home from visiting Seven Stars. We had booked for Sunday lunch. We had a warm friendly welcome all the staff are very professional. The Seven Stars has a really lovely atmosphere and pleasant vibe. We ordered the roast beef which was delicious, the roast potatoes nice and crispy and the vegetables very tasty.The portions are extremely generous. We shared a desert which was a light chocolate cake with stem ginger ice cream absolutely perfect end our meal. Thank you for a lovely lunch in a beautiful setting. We will highly recommend to our friends and family.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 2StevenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattF359, Owner at Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much 2StevenS for your kind review. We thoroughly enjoyed seeing you on Sunday and hope to see you again soon.

Cheers

Matt & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've heard about this delightful pub as we do live close to the area and many of our friends have told us to visit. My partner and I decided to go for a Sunday lunch time drink and a bite to eat. As we walked into the seven stars 'locals' as you call them where all around the bar having a laugh with the friendliest landlord I've met in a while (over hearing I think his name was Matt) We was then welcomed by a lovely tall woman (Amy) as she seemed to have some sort of manager roll but what a lovely one she was. Considering we didn't book a table and they seemed to be fairly busy, we got offered a table inside or out. We choose outside.

The Menu was a Sunday Service one which we didn't mind - I'm not a big meat eater but there where various veggie and even gluten free options.
My partner had the Roast chicken and I have the veggie roast both amazing ! for an extra couple of quid we could some cal cheese as well, which was lush!

Nothing but amazing reviews about this place, great food great atmo and they even have Aperol spritz on the go!

Thank you Matt and the team for making sundays better !!!! :)

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Food
Thank ellen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattF359, Owner at Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ellen
Thank you for such a stunning review.
Great to hear that you loved the pub and we cant wait to see you again.
Matt & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Two of us visited this community run pub in September for an evening meal. Warm welcome from friendly, efficient and well trained staff. Great choice of well kept real ales. Nicely ambient and atmospheric eating area just off the bar area (there is also a separate eating area in the "Barn" which looked welcoming) Good food and attentive service throughout. We also visited on a different occasion just for a drink and received the same warm welcome from the Manager. Recommended.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MickMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattF359, Owner at Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mick
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.
It was lovely to meet you.
Kind Regards
Matt & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

Excellent all round. Wonderful atmosphere, attentive staff and delicious food. Definitely recommend lunch, dinner or just a pint!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Mario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattF359, Owner at Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for such a kind review Mario.
Much appreciated by us and all in the community.
Kind Regards
Matt & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

Cannot fault the Seven Stars Pub. Landlord very attentive and welcoming. Imaginative yet traditional menu to suit all tastes. Highly recommend to all

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ElizabethPetrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattF359, Owner at Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Elizabeth
Thank you for taking the time to review our community pub.
Kind Regards
Matt & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Stars also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Seven Stars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing