We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pub with great food ”
Review of Seven Stars

Seven Stars
Ranked #21 of 725 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In 2013 the Seven Stars was bought by the local community who afforded the opportunity of running their pub to a local tenant. The pub is set in the stunning village of Marsh Baldon, which is just off the A4074 by Nuneham Courtenay and just 3 miles from Oxford.The pub is set up to serve good British pub food from open until 9pm every day and is a central part of the bustling local community.With a great garden and set right next to the largest village green in Europe the outside area is ideal for walkers and is also dog friendly. The local area also includes the Harcourt Arboretum for all those loving their outdoor walks.As part of their plan for the pub the local community has also invested in the conversion of existing buildings to make an additional restaurant space. This converted barn space opened in November 2013, with views south over the countryside it has proven to be an excellent addition to the ambiance of the pub. Now with the garden having been re-turfed, new furniture, adding in garden games for the kids and an Aunt Sally track it is a great spot to while away your day. We look forward to welcoming you to our pub soon.
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Popped in on a Friday night after a hectic day. Lovely and relaxed atmosphere, excellently dealt with my daughter’s dairy free diet too. Food was very good and they had a good range of local beer

Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt F, Owner at Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Dear Richard.,

I'm very glad that you enjoyed your visit on Friday, thank you for leaving such a lovely review :)

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best wishes

Matt & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 500 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2018

Great atmosphere in a country pub / restaurant. I was enticed finally to this venue due to a beer festival. Although I enjoyed the beer behind the bar more the festival was very enjoyable. I enjoyed their burger but found it quite ordinary but of a high standard. I took a star off as I felt that some items were not washed properly which I find disappointing in a restaurant. This meaning black mould in the neck of a bottle of water that was supplied and some sticky red something on the bottom of a plate. The staff were great and attentive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt F, Owner at Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Dear Glynn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
The water bottles are cleaned regularly, however following your visit, we took each water bottle and deep cleaned and steamed them to ensure there was nothing on there that shouldn't be.

Regards

Matt & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

We came a long way to visit our food friends who took us to this lovely popular pub.

We were welcomed warmly by the very attentive and keen to please food service staff and sat in the barn area.
It was very pleasant, delightful room and quiet...but not for long. Being a summer holiday it was clearly popular with parents and young children. It soon became quite noisy.....it was a bit like eating in a 'school meals canteen' .......I looked to find an alternative table but they were full. So we had to grin and bare it! Next time, our friends will request the dinning rooms.

The menu had what one might describe as a typical pub menu....but with one or two interesting differences...the specials board unfortunately only had one main courses on offer, salmon.....my partner chose the guinea fowl from the menu which was very well presented, correctly cooked, well garnished and was declared very tasty.
3 of us chose the haddock and chips. The batter wasn’t as light as it could have been. ( reawakening it by whipping in some beer to re-aerate it just before using would have gone a long way to improve it.). As is custom nowadays the fish is placed on top of what were crisp chips which then turns them into soggy ones...why do this? It’s a great shame! The peas were served in a dish normally used for accompanying sauces....and held about 1 dessert spoon of peas.

So we left... a little deafened .....disappointed with the fish and chips.......and not feeling it didn’t match its reviews.

1  Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt F, Owner at Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Dear Gerald,

We take all feedback very seriously and I am sorry to hear that the pub did not live up to the reviews you had read. We have let the kitchen know about your comments and have started plating the fish and chips on a different type of plate, therefore avoiding soggy chips.

Thank you for flagging up these issues and we hope to see you soon.


Matt & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

This is a lovely village pub in every sense of the word. The location is great, the building full of atmospheric warmth, a fine array of beers and an excellent restaurant.

We went for supper, were quickly given a friendly welcome by the mainly young staff and taken to a table in the barn area. When we arrived it was quiet but it rapidly filled up and by the time we left it was buzzing nicely. We had guinea fowl (excellent) and a house burger which was very tasty and well presented but badly let down by bacon that was virtually raw! We told our waiter who said he would tell the chef but there was no reaction back from the kitchen.
Staff were friendly and efficient : we thoroughly enjoyed our meal and would have happily given a five star raing were it not for the bacon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FranklySpeaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt F, Owner at Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Dear Frankly,

Thank you for leaving the time to leave a review, we are very proud of the pub :)

Very glad to hear you enjoyed the guinea fowl, it is ace. Thank you again for your comments, we have passed this onto the kitchen.

Best wishes

Matt & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

The food here is exceptional! Service is polite, efficient and attentive without being intrusive. The chicken Cesar salad was the best I have tried in a very long time. The atmosphere was cosy, but it was lunchtime... so any kind of good vibe is a bonus. Overall, I would highly recommend this place!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank simondwebb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt F, Owner at Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Dear Simon,

We are very proud of our pub and the food the exceptional chefs produce, thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review :)


We hope to see you again soon
.

Matt & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Stars also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Toot Baldon, Oxford
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Seven Stars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing