We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven in a bun”

Byron George Street
Ranked #87 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Proper hamburgers made from British beef, freshly prepared and cooked to order, served with a craft beer
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven in a bun”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I visited Byron on Tuesday and I have to say that it's the best burger I've ever had in England. The meat, the chips, the drinks... everything was perfect. Not only was the food of fantastically high quality, but the staff were some of the nicest I've ever encountered. Our server was sure to attend to our every need and nothing was amiss.

If you're in Oxford there's no excuse for you to miss out on a Byron hamburger!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    159
    64
    35
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Burgers done the right way”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Honestly, I dream about this place. My girlfriend and I often turn to each other and say, "You know what I really fancy? A Byron's". And it's always unfathomably depressing whenever we can't have one here. So Byron's, thank you for existing. Oh, and thank you for being at Cornbury last year, I sincerely hope you are there again this time around. Hopefully, you will be at Reading Festival too. But my favourite thing (and I know that you're a burger bar, but I think this is your crowning glory) is the chocolate milkshake. It's a little piece of heaven...sweet, chocolate heaven. It's melted ice cream, and it works on so many different levels. But please, for god's sake, don't ruin it for me: I don't want to find out that your meat comes from a stable!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norris1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
station_y2k, Manager at Byron George Street, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Legendary review! Thank you very much, your welcome any time. Come and say hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
446 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

That's my first time here i ordered a double cheese burger & Cesar salad it was very good, Definitely i'll try it again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbdullahAltamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simple and good quality with GREAT milkshakes!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited this place last night. It looks small from the front but has a big eating space once you walk through. I am not a huge fan of beef burgers unlike the other members of our party however was pleased to find out that they will make any of the burgers on the menu with chicken instead of beef :-) I had the blue cheese chicken burger and the chargrilled chicken was delicious -really tender. The beef burgers that my friends had were delicious also. Would particularly recommend the milkshakes, they are divine! The Byron sauce is also yummy. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alicethecamell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not like any other Burger Bar, the best I have ever been to.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great burgers and for those who want something lighter than a full blown burger I would suggest the skinny burger, which I very filling. Staff very friendly and polite, fantastic service

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 706PKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byron George Street also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Byron George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing