We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice company”
Review of Jolly Farmers

Jolly Farmers
Ranked #463 of 649 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Jolly Farmers has been a Gay pub for donkey's years. Very friendly staff there and good fresh ciders. There's an outside space where you can smoke and a downstairs space where you can play pool. Agreable space :-)

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank LucileDesligneres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 54 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Popped in with family and had a fantastic Sunday Roast a lovely Carvery Style with all the veg under the sun you could eat. Wandered out in to the Lovely clean tidy garden area and sat and had lunch in the sun. Staff were extremely friendly and attentive even with a fair few other diners around for grub. Drinks very reasonably priced for being in a city centre location and at £6.95 for dinner that was an absolute steal! Definitely recommending to friends, family and the local congregation on a Sunday when I pop to church for them to pop along to The Jolly Farmers. Top job people keep up the good work!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I called on a Thursday to book for Sunday lunch and they said "yes, no problem".

When we turned up at 13:00 for lunch, the pub was closed. After some minutes another group of people in the same situation arrived, they had also booked a table. Through the window you could see the pub was dirty and messy from the previous night. Eventually we called them and they said that they had a party on Saturday night and it finished late so they would not open until 18:00.

Having tables booked, I think this is very unprofessional and rude. They are also very unreliable, the other group of people told us they had similar problems in the past.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyFarmers, General Manager at Jolly Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Hi,

I am disappointed to hear about your recent bad experience.

It would appear that what staff failed to inform you was that whilst we had been booked out for a private party on the previous night (Sat 8th June), vandalism at that party which took place at the party, resulted in a split mains pipe, which flooded the toilets, food store and kitchen. We had to close the pub, turn off the water & some of the power, there and then, and it was not until, 11am on the day in question when the power came back on.

With the level of damage, and as the fridges had been off all night, we were unable to open and had no choice but to destroy our entire chilled & frozen food stock.

I am unaware of anyone having similar problems in the past, and hope that you will see from our other reviews, that this is not how we operate our business.

If you would be so good as to send me your contact details to info@jollyfarmersdining.co.uk I would like the opportunity to put things right, and encourage you to see the real Jolly Farmers in action.

Kind Regards,

Stuart
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have just got back home after a visit with my husband to the Jolly Farmers, I purchased a Groupon Voucher for a fish and chip lunch plus a pint of beer or a glass of wine, what a fantastic plate of food we had it was absolutely brilliant, we had a choice of peas or salad as we have a lot of salad at home we opted for the peas, it may sound silly but along with the fish and chips the peas were fantastic, usually in most places the peas are cooked to death and all the colour gone not with these wel done JOLLY FARMERS

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mo_jones41_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

On first glance, this place looked rather shabby but after eating the food, appearance wasn't an issue. Delicious hearty meals and polite and attentive staff. Would certainly visit again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank t0nit0nyt0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Farmers also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Jolly Farmers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing