We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit run down but very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House Hotel
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for three nights when my daughter came to study at Oxford University. It was very well situated right in the heart of Oxford and very close to her college. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good. The rooms really need an upgrade though and are very small. Breakfast is served in your room but there is nowhere to sit and eat, which makes it a bit uncomfortable. There is a nightclub next door which was very noisy and noise from the street is a problem too. The curtains were threadbare and the blinds were a tangled mess. Lastly, it is a non-smoking hotel with smoke detectors and in the middle of the night the fire alarm went off. We had to start evacuating, only one stairwell, very narrow, no lifts. Then one of the other guests said it was a false alarm because someone smoked in a room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruisegirlsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 163 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for one night, took advantage of their parking bay for £10, ate a lovely meal in The Grapes just up the road and went to the New Theatre opposite. Bed was reasonably comfy, breakfast excellent, staff friendly and helpful, location top class, we didnt expect too much as it is not 4 or 5* and so we were not disappointed. We didnt mind the stairs as we are fairly fit and the room was at the back which i suspect would be quieter in the summer than the front. Also they give you a key to let yourself in at night which is great, they are not on duty at night.
On the downside the shower water didnt get past warm, the wake up call from the previous occupant hadnt been cancelled and the phone rung at 7.30a.m., and there was a constant droning noise all night, from the plumbing? it seemed to come from inside rather than outside.

Room Tip: I saw a double room on the 3rd floor as we were leaving that looked pretty big it was at the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinkle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Disgusting at best health and safety inspection and hygiene inspection required. We were asked if we wanted our room cleaned by a man who spoke very poor English when we said yes. They never cleaned it they just replenished the tea and coffee. This trip was a gift to my husband on our first wedding anniversary spoiled by poor service poor value for money and six flights of stairs to clim to our disgusting room they take your money before they how you the room it's disgusting.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

As already mentioned this hotel is above a club and the noise travels, even to top floor, no chance of having windows open and no air con means poor sleep. On plus side breakfast was prompt and reasonable, the location is very handy for all the major sights of Oxford and rail station.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birminghamguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stay away from the George Street rooms. With no AC in the summer, you'll be partying all night with the bar patrons below you, even if you don't want to.

Room was very small and the shower stall (no tub) was very small. The free breakfast was prompt and as advertised. No lift, carry your bags up the stairs. Reception closes at 9pm. When we called for help with the noise, the emergency number was not answered.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street-side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inthekeysfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I would definitely not recommend this hotel. There is no mention of the noise and the numerous flights of stairs that you have to endure whilst staying here. If it wasn't the people in the next room screaming at each other until after 2 in the morning keeping me awake then it was the relentless noise of the disco in the basement - again not mentioned when booking. The stairs were too much for my 84 year old grandmother never mind the lack of sleep. When I mentioned this to the receptionist in the morning I was stared at in disbelief and told it wasn't her fault. What a waste of £150!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissKat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel is up a steep stair leading from an unpreposessing entry. Reception is on the first floor but there is no staff presence after 10pm so we were given a key. Our twin bedroom was very small - we had to keep standing aside to let one another get past - the distance from the foot of my bed to the wall was 22 inches. There were no drawers to put clothes in and only an open-fronted box-like affair (with a curtain) for hanging clothes - this was 18 inches wide, so it's just as well there were only five hangers - we couldn't have got any more into this "wardrobe." My friend kept most of her clothing in her suitcase, as there was nowhere else for it. There were no bedside tables or lamps - we had to take the phone off the little (11inches square) table it was on and put this table between the beds, the phone meantime lying on the floor. The switch for the wall-light above the beds was so high that I had to get out of bed to turn it off. The bathroom was dirty - filth round the base of the shower cabinet and dirty mould inside the cabinet. The sealant behind the wash-basin was poorly applied and dirty. The shower was unusable for the first two mornings without help from reception, as we couldn't manage to turn it on but a plumber was called on day 2. Negotiating the stairs to go out in the morning was not easy, due to bags of laundry and staff vacuuming with trailing cables - a careless and dangerous situation. As there was no dining-room, we were expected to eat our breakfast in the cramped little bedroom, sitting on our beds, as the only table/dressing-table was taken up by a huge hospitality tray (no biscuits!) and what space was left over from that was used up by our possessions, there being nowhere else for us to put them. Instead, we went out for breakfast to the croissanterie across the road - we were given vouchers for this, but only discovered this possibility by accident when in conversation with the receptionist - the information wasn't offered freely. There was no air-conditioning but because the room was so small, we had to open the window at night to avoid suffocation, and the street noise was horrendous - screeching women and shouting men, plus thumping music for hours, then an early start with the bin lorries and demolition work.
We loved Oxford, but the hotel spoiled the experience for us - what a rip-off!

Room Tip: The best way would be to choose it in a different hotel. But if you are forced to go to the Victor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#37 of 44 in Oxford
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#16 of 44 in Oxford
708 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#26 of 44 in Oxford
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#29 of 44 in Oxford
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ethos Hotel Oxford
Ethos Hotel Oxford
#22 of 44 in Oxford
546 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House Hotel

Address: 29-30 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: $86 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victoria House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing