We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very tired but popular hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very tired but popular hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed one night in the triple bed family room. At £118 for the night including breakfast I thought this a bit pricey considering the rundown state of both the inside and outside of the place. Most impressive part was the off road parking, essential in Oxford. Sheets and bathroom seemed clean but the room itself smelt like a charity shop. Shower was very poor. Breakfast was basic but pleasant enough. Did feel as though the guy in charge had his eye on you the whole time though and he was obsessed with the likelihood of people smoking in his rooms. Strangest thing was the artwork of a dying infant complete with angel overlooking our breakfast table! Would avoid returning if possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    45
    27
    35
See reviews for
21
58
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I notice several other reviews refer to the 'shabby' nature of the hotel. While it is not the most modern or well-decorated hotel, and the service is somewhat perfunctory, if you know what to expect it is absolutely fine. It was pretty good value for a family room, which was clean and comfortable, the location is very convenient for central Oxford and it's easy to get to, especially if driving from the south, plus there is free parking space.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

very dated decor. bedroom was very shabby. breakfast was plentiful, but lacked quality. got a lot of noise in the bedroom, from the landing, stairs and the plumbing (from ensuite next door). the only saving graces for this hotel was the large car park, and the lovely 15 minute walk along the river into the town centre. wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paspa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

lewes
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I use a number of hotels and found this particular hotel to be very poor for a number of reasons:

- my room was dirty
- the staff were distinctly odd in the way they behaved and made me feel uncomfortable
- the breakfast was sub standard
- the decor was a through back to the 70's and probably hadn't been upgraded since

In its favour

- location
- parking

I'm not going back there and I would advise to consider other options

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank frank1eb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went to check into this hotel with my partner who booked a double room. He went to reception whilst I got our luggage from the car. When the man behind the desk saw me, he said are you two together. We said yes and his reply was you've only booked a single room. We explained we booked a double. He said you mean you'll both sleep in one bed? He got a room number and again said there is only one bed are you sure. He asked repeatedly if we wanted to share a bed, then mumbled something under his breath. We were mortified and embarrassed and walked out. I have never been made to feel so unwelcome before.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank EdRyan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights in a single room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Good Location only a 15 min walk to the city centre. Breakfast was good and the service from the elderly man was fantastic :-) the room and the en suite bathroom were spacious but the room could have been a little bit more cleaner. To sum up a good accommodation if you want to explore Oxford (which is definitely a visit worth :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardiff13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oatley NSW
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just for one night; 5 adults, 2 rooms. Very comfortable and clean with a lovely breakfast. The walk to town took about 15 minutes, very flat and easy.
Strong wifi signal in the rooms..free.
I think we paid around £210 for the one night for 5 of us. Perfectly adequate with good staff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.8 mi away
Balkan Lodge Hotel
Balkan Lodge Hotel
#31 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#28 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#37 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 180 Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Victoria Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing