We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room and unpleasant rules”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty room and unpleasant rules”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I read the reviews before going to this hotel. Reputation is not good. But I Think if it's a normal b and b, I can still accept. But the situation is really worse. I think no traveller want to leave bad comments except it's really terrible
Location: you can walk to downtown on sunny day. On rainy day, sorry
Price: you can find a better b and b in downtown. I regret after I walk around Oxford
Room: quite cold there carpet is dirty and shower room is a small square of 4 sq feet. Wait for long time for hot water
Service: the owner doesn't allow any person to eat wash on the room. The owner is impolite and rude, like others say.
The check out time is 10:30. All rules are Not reasonable
I feel uncomfortable and dangerous to stay there and leave early

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    49
    30
    35
See reviews for
26
66
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our stay here was problem-free and the staff who dealt with us with friendly, helpful and pleasant. The room we stayed in could do with a re-fresh, in fact the entire hotel interior could but it's not bad at all and it did the job perfectly well for us. The hotel is walking distance from the city centre (if the weather's ok) and is on a good bus route or a very short taxi ride (£6) if it's raining. Breakfast was decent quality and there was plenty available. Overall we were perfectly satisfied with our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

For a very reasonably priced hotel in Oxford it's perfect.

The beds are a smidge on the hard side, but not unbearable, the linen is clean and good quality. The bathrooms could do with a wee bit of a wipe, but there was nothing manky hiding in the shower, which was adequate and warm.

The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice and appeared to be freshly cooked.

The staff are friendly and helpful and there is free wifi.

We have stayed twice and had two different rooms which were equally satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mspolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed for a week here while visiting the Literary Festival just a river walk away at Christchurch. The staff were helpful and friendly especially the gentleman presiding over an appetising breakfast - fresh fruit salad second to none. Our twin room was situated at the back of the semi-detached house across from the hotel entrance. It had been recently redecorated and was warm, clean and bright. It was quiet and felt private. We particularly appreciated the lighting level both being keen readers. The room was cleaned daily and towels and bedding changed frequently.
The car park was organised and well marked out for ease of use. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo NSW Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We didn't choose this hotel but it was organised when the guest house we'd booked 10 months earlier had been double booked. Owner was surly, rude and unpleasant. The room was old and shabby and not worth the 100 pounds we paid! Carpet looked as though it hadn't been cleaned. The sheets were clean and the room a decent size and location good but we were glad to pack up after one night and move on.Although the hotel had signs appologising for the renovations they were undergoing there was no evidence of anything happening. It was just a rouse.Don't stay in this place would be my advice. If you have seen Faulty Towers then you will have some idea of what this place is like.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The room was cold, dirty, small and in need of total refurbishment. They had apparently started the refurb!!! The breakfast and drinks in the rooms were cheap unknown products and lacked flavour, sausages cooked then re heated isn't good. I think their cleaner was very short, as the tops of things were very dusty and dirty. We didn't bath as the bath wasn't clean.The velvet curtains in our bathroom were stained and when pulled, were down beside the toilet pan!!! We had blankets on our bed, which smelt musty.The hotel is not value for money. We had no sleep as there was a bus stop opposite the hotel and a pelican crossing. Police sirens throughout the night and noisy students out for halloween!!! On a sign in our bedroom, it also states, no washing allowed!!!!!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, I suggest a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola_hird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The staff are friendly but the room was small and needs updating. Wasn't the best value for money we found and will look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.8 mi away
Balkan Lodge Hotel
Balkan Lodge Hotel
#29 of 44 in Oxford
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#28 of 44 in Oxford
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
0.9 mi away
Old Black Horse
Old Black Horse
#39 of 44 in Oxford
103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#14 of 44 in Oxford
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 180 Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Victoria Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing