We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,680)
Filter reviews
1,681 results
Traveler rating
545
632
296
124
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
632
296
124
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeefeater next doorbeefeater restaurantbusiness parkadjoining beefeatermeal dealring roadthe buscity centrecowley roadcar parkplenty of parkingreception staffnight's sleepbudget hotelfamily roombusy roadroom was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
1,135 - 1,140 of 1,681 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Initially worried after seeing other reviews. Room spotlessly clean, staff pleasant. request for fan was immediately responded to. Beds very comfortable. lack of seating in the family room was an issue. Didn't find the noise from nearby road a problem, but it depends what you're used to. Restaurant was very busy, maybe due to Bank Holiday. Staff were excellent but over-worked. Ample parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Huge premier inn and very busy but only two people booking in guests despite the very long queue. The usual efficiently polite service and a nice clean room. The temperature was OK, but the air conditioning had been turned off and wasn't able to be turned back on in the night when it was stuffy.
The big problem wasn't the prem inn itself, it was the beefeater restaurant next door. The seemingly nice décor masked the hideous eating experience we got twice (the second had already been pre booked or we wouldn't have gone). The evening meal was nice, good service and felt sorry for the young lad who was helpful and let down by his boss as he was run off his feet. Had to wait an ice age for the bill though and tried to get the manager to get it but he walked off.
The worst part was the breakfast (I have described this in detail in another review for the Longwall Beefeater). Basically very poor service, lots of stuff ran out and I include food, cups, spoons and plates.
It was as if they wanted to be the worst dining experience in history....a real joke. I kept wondering when Laurel and Hardy would emerge from the kitchen.

Room Tip: Bring sandwiches as the room will be the last of your worries if you are hungry...JUST DON'T GO TO THE BEEFEATER NEXT DOOR
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karl n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Does exactly what it says. .. firm bed...which suited us....family room....just enough space. Good breakfast in the restaurant next door....very helpful staff. Clearly enjoy their job.....makes a huge difference. Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surprised_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Premier Inn was fine but the biggest problem was the restaurant. The place was very busy & the poor waiter was run off his feet. BUT we waited forever for the bill at the end of the meal and eventually went to the man at the door to tell him we would be going unless we got the bill now. (It was him that we managed to grab to ask for the bill initially). He managed to get it and then walked away again leaving us waiting until the waiter came to take the payment. That sadly was not the end of it. The following morning we had breakfast there only to be severely disappointed. Not all the hot food was available, nobody asked if we waited omelette, boiled egg, poached egg, porridge etc. Eventually we were able to find a member of staff and ordered porridge, poached eggs and runny boiled eggs for dipping bread in. We asked for the poached eggs to come 10 mins after the porridge. All to no avail. It all came together. The porridge was cold and a glutinous lump. The boiled eggs were hard boiled and not suitable for dipping bread in whilst the poached were almost uncooked and inedible. As well as all this there was a shortage of cups, plates, glasses and food. The toaster took 3 attempts to brown the bread. Maybe the morale is to take your own cutlery and crockery and even your own food! But the best advice is not to even bother going.

Room Tip: Avoid the Beefeater next door
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluexandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

checked in to Oxford Premier, nice central meeting place for ourselves and friends,went for meal deal, and booked a table for 4 @8 o'clock...in rest for 19.55, no table and people queueing...explained we had a table reserved,lad trying to run the restraunt was flustered by 'walk ins' waiting for tables, we were eventually seated at 20.40, and noted at 22.00 we had actually got our main meals!!! didnt bother with dessert ..too tired..The waitress for our table..Gina...was a very pleasant girl...run off her feet, and taking complaints which is Managements place...we spoke to James next morning, a very pleasant Manager and he took on board all that was being said, and agreed, as did his manager that more staff are needed...but a simple ';reserved' sign on a booked table would have avoided the whole situation. Management need to get control of the 'Walk In' and booked guest situation,those pre paid and booked should have priority to the restaraunt for dinner and breakfast...walk ins should be seated in the Pub area. The staff are lovely..just not enough of them...The four of us were refunded, but it isnt about the money...it wasnt the evening we had planned..and its the same issue as before...more staff needed...or CUT the walk ins. Thanks to all the staff from reception to bar/restaruant and housekeepers for fighting to keep your heads above water and remaining so pleasant under duress...we hope you get the help you deserve.

Room Tip: we were rooms top floor and had no probs with any part of the rooms ...immaculate as always
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews