We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Sleeping in a Sauna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Like Sleeping in a Sauna”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Avoid the first floor rooms in the main building. They are hot as hell and you can't leave the windows open because of traffic noise from the ring road. There is no air conditioning and the staff are quite open about the problems with the building. I raised the issue on leaving for the day, but nothing had been done about it when I returned. In the end I was given another room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    508
    217
    93
    59
See reviews for
397
443
43
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Enjoyed one night at this hotel over the weekend. Although situated about 3 miles from the city centre, it was easy to travel into the city either by taxi or bus. The room was to the usual standard of a premier inn - clean,comfortable and well appointed. Unfortunately the room was extremely hot during the night as there was no air conditioning and we were unable to open the window fully due to the security wire. Although there was a fan provided it was rather noisy and therefore made it difficult to sleep. Breakfast was very good and the staff both on reception and in the restaurant were helpful and polite throughout

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieG692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longwall, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Good evening, thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the room to be clean and comfortable, staff helpful, and the location good for your travels into Oxford centre.

I’m sorry however that you experienced problems with the heat of the room, reception are available 24 hours a day and can offer sheets instead of duvets, and as you say, all rooms are provided with fans, however I’m sorry again that that you still had issues sleeping during the night.

Many thanks again for your review, we hope to see you again.

Gemma Corney
Oxford Cluster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have stayed here many times in recent years and the quality of the staff, rooms, food etc is always excellent and reflects good value for money. It,s easier to take taxis into Oxford than to try and park, but discuss the route first as some drivers will try to take you the long way round. Park and ride system works well as a cheaper alternative to taxis, we found it easiest to take our car to the pear tree island park and ride car park (free blue badge parking and bays right next to the bus stop) and get the bus in. Oxford is lovely to visit at any time of year, but we try and avoid times when universities are interviewing for the new intake of students or when there is open days as the behaviour of these groups en masse can be a nightmare, and a shocking reflection on the value system instilled in our young people at some centres of learning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longwall, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Good afternoon, and thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I’m very pleased to hear you had an excellent stay, and enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and restaurant.

As you say, we always suggest that guests use the local bus routes rather than a taxi, as this tends to be much easier than parking in the centre!

I hope you also enjoyed your trip into Oxford, and that we will see you at Premier Inn again soon. Thanks again for your review.

Gemma Corney
Oxford Cluster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

As usual Premier Inn didnt let us down. Clean and friendly. We paid more than we thought justifiable as the hotel is quite a way from the centre of Oxford. We were let down once again though by the Beefeater Restaurant. Staff are lovely but there steak is appauling.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longwall, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Good evening, thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the rooms to be clean, and the staff friendly.

I’m sorry that you experienced issues with your food in the Beefeater restaurant, these comments will be passed onto the restaurant team to review.

Many thanks again for your comments; we hope to see you again.

Gemma Corney
Oxford Cluster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our first stay at a Premier Inn (one of 600 in the UK). We booked the room on-line based in part on Trip Advisor rating and review and in part because it appeared to be part of an established chain similar to those we patronize in the USA.

While we not disappointed, we were a bit surprised at some aspects of the accommodation. The desk staff was very pleasant and helpful throughout the four-day stay. The room was clean, the bed reasonably comfortable (inner spring), the hotel quiet. The use of liquid soap dispensers for both sink and shower was a new experience. The absence of what we call wash cloths/face towels and having only one hand towel except on the day we left a note for the chambermaid to give us a second and the absence of a tissue dispenser were all “green” touches that we were not used to. Two full-sized bath towels were provided and changed when we left them off the rack.

One feature – the height of the bathtub off the floor – needs to be noted. This was quite uncomfortable even for fairly agile guests and required holding on with both hands while climbing in and out.

The other reason we booked this hotel was its proximity to Oxford center for travelers using public transportation. The hotel staff has prepared a helpful printed slip with the walking directions. We found that the estimate of the walking time to the bus stop was a little optimistic – more like eleven minutes than that eight listed by the hotel web site. Nevertheless, it was close enough, we had no rain during our stay AND the buses ran very frequently both to and from Oxford center. So, the location turned out to meet our needs quite well.

Finally – the Beefeater Restaurant immediately adjacent to the hotel we had a simple continental breakfast (twice)and one lunch and one dinner there. All were good as was the free Wifi in the restaurant which made up for the thirty-minute limit on free Wifi in the room (which can be supplemented by a 3 GBP for 24 hours offer).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Edina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longwall, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Good evening, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Oxford Premier Inn.

At Premier Inn we aim for all our guests to enjoy every aspect of their stay with us, and we value all feedback given, I’d like to thank you for all of your comments, they will be passed onto the team.

It’s great to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful, and the rooms clean and quiet. I’m sorry however that you experienced issues with the bathroom facilities.

I’m pleased to hear you found our location good, and staff were able to help with directions for local transport, we have a range of local busses that run through Bicester, and into the City of Oxford.

I’m glad that you also had a good experience in the restaurant for breakfasts and dinner, and that you found the free wifi useful.

Many thanks again for your review; we hope to see you again.

Gemma Corney
Oxford Cluster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stay here on a regular basis and can honestly say it feels like a home away from home. The staff here are efficient and friendly. Nothing seems to be too much bother for them. In addition, the attached Beefeater does the BEST fillet steak I have ever tasted!
The rooms are standard Premier Inn although the TVs are of the larger variety. There is no air con, which is a problem if you get one of the roadside rooms as the windows are secondary glazed, only allowing a small circulation of air; not to mention the noise road noise!
To get the best from this hotel, request (well in advance of your stay if possible) a top floor room on the car park side where it is much quieter. It is also worth booking your restaurant table in advance of arrival if you wish to eat at a specific time, as it gets very busy. There is always the eat at the bar option, where the same menu is available, but be prepared for a wait at the bar as it always seems understaffed. I get to stay at a lot of Premier Inns, but this one is the best I have experienced!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longwall, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good morning, and thank you for your 5 star review!

It’s great to hear you have enjoyed many stays with us at Oxford Premier Inn, and that you have found the staff consistently friendly and helpful, and the food in the Beefeater good too!

As you mention, the quietest rooms are located away from the road, and you are more than welcome to call us to request a quiet room prior to your stay.

We always suggest booking a table in the restaurant, as it can get very busy in the evenings, our staff are available at any time to do this for you.

Many thanks again for your review; we look forward to your next stay with us.

Gemma Corney
Oxford Cluster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good enough and as there were four of us it was good to be given adjacent rooms. As always clean and comfy with decent sized bath towels.

Hotel staff good. Beefeater next door had a waiter/barman who needs training in peripheral vision and realising that customers take priority over clearing glasses. His sarcasm was not necessary either . . . but he taught me well.

Beefeater food is Beefeater food - steak VERY tough and even bottomless chips (whatever they are) don't make up for cheap cuts of meat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Trainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longwall, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good morning, thank you for reviewing your stay,

I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the staff helpful, and the rooms clean and comfortable.

I’m sorry that you experienced problems in our adjoining Beefeater restaurant; these comments will be passed onto the restaurant team to review.

Many thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you again.

Gemma Corney
Oxford Cluster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,028 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
5.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
158 reviews
2.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Oxford Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Address: Garsington Road | Oxford Business Park, Oxford OX4 2JZ, England (Formerly Travel Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#9 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for both business and leisure guests. For business this hotel is next to Oxford business park and for shops and local amenities Oxford city centre is only 3 miles away. Our Oxford Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Beefeater restaurant serving freshly cooked chargrilled food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing