We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Being a fan of premier inn, I booked 2 twin rooms here for a girls get together in Oxford. None of others had stayed in a premier inn before and I don't think this will convince them to do so again! Was disappointed to find that we couldn't really walk anywhere and spent £50 on taxi fares in 24 hrs! Breakfast was in the adjoining beefeater and did not feel like the usual great breakfast that the premier inn offers. Room was generally clean but carpet needed a good scrub. Large wall mounted tv was great. On a positive, all the staff were extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KG1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longwall, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Good morning, and thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with your friends did not meet your expectations.

We are 3 miles from the City centre, so a little too far to walk. The taxi firm we use charge guests £8.50 for a regular size car.

We aim that every guest has a great stay, and I am sorry that this has not been the case.
I hope this has not deterred you form future stays at Premier Inn.

Sally Muttitt
Oxford Cluster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    520
    230
    98
    63
See reviews for
415
463
47
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Typical Premier Inn with Beefeater Attached. We were in Annex block but as you have your own pass key that's not a problem. In fact may be an advantage as is located further from the ring road,and may be quieter. Good access to City centre, either by bus or around ring road to park and ride.
Thought the Beefeater was average, and although it's called "The Longwall" I couldn't find any reference to the old Morris Oxford works except a couple of picture of cars.

There drinks menu says to ask the staf about their selection of cask ales. Thats easy - they havn't got any!! The only beer available was Tetleys smoothflow. Didn't bother to go back for more !

Room Tip: Stay in Annexe as further from elevated ring road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longwall, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Good afternoon, and thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am glad you found our hotel comfortable and accessable for the City centre.

Our restaurant was refurbished a few years ago and memorabila relating to the old Morris Oxford works were donated to the Oxford Bus Museum in Long Hanborough.

We look forward to you returning to Oxford Premier Inn in the future

Sally Muttitt
Group Co-ordinator
Oxford Cluster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We picked this hotel as we wanted to explore Oxford.We had never used the services of a Premier Inn previously. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and upon arrival to our room found the card key did not work,this was sorted very promptly by a reception staff member,even though reception was very busy. The room was very clean,as was bedlinen and towels.The big screen TV was was also a welcome addition. The bar area was busy and extra staff would of been useful,but saying that we ordered a barmeal and it came quickly,as ordered and hot.The waitress was courteous and ensured we had everything needed. To get a drink was slow,but this was not the fault of the bar staff member, as he was inundated,an extra pair of hands is what was needed. We stayed in room 32 on the ground floor and it was fine,a bit of noise from the room above,but only due to building regs not so stringent when this hotel was built,regarding noise insulation to flooring. All else was fine,bed comfy and we did not hear traffic at all.
Breakfast next morning was a bit haphazard,but only due to staff shortages I imagine. The manager tried his best to be accomodating,one member of staff,waitress,was very level headed and calm and took it all in her stride,sorting problems out,such as shortage of hot drinks and mugs.Tables could of been cleared quicker to enable the backlog of waiting hungry clients.Breakfast was great and would recommend. We had no problems with the food whatsoever. We took a bus into Oxford,which was a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. Bus stop was just past the 'Original Swan' public house. Services 1,5 & 10 take you right into Oxford. We would definitiely use this hotel again if needs be,or any other Premier Inn. We liked the hotel cleanliness and ease of getting into the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longwall, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Good morning, and thank you for your review.

I am glad that you had a great weekend break, and found us convenient for the city centre.

Breakfast can be very busy as we do have 143 rooms. The breakfast team do work very hard to manage this, but delays do occur due to the volume of guests.

Thank you once again, and hope to see you again in the near future.

Sally Muttitt
Oxford Cluster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here on a Sunday evening en route further south. Good value for the location close to Oxford city centre (we paid £39 per room which slept up to 4). Check in was quick and friendly and reception staff were very helpful with advice on how to get into town. We used the bus into the town centre but it's worth noting that the buses through the business park don't run on a Sunday so you need to walk 5-10minutes down to the junction Oxford Road and Between Towns Road (yes, that really is the road name!). From there buses were frequent into town and ran until late in the evening. It was £3.15 return per adult.

Rooms were clean and comfortable as you expect in a Premier Inn although I would say for a family of 4 it is quite a squeeze. There's a double bed and a sofa bed but for "person no.4" there's a pull-out under the double bed which has to go in the gap between the double and sofa beds and doesn't leave much room!

We ate dinner in town so didn't sample the "delights" of the adjacent Beefeater. Breakfast is a serve yourself buffet and there was a good range of both continental and cooked breakfast which seemed good value for money (about £9 and the children ate for free).

Room Tip: Some rooms in the main building are quite close to the dual carriageway so if you're a light sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longwall, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Good evening, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Our Premier Saver offers are extremely good value, and we have added another 50,000 winter rooms available between 15th December - 13th January on our website.

It is great to have such positive feedback about our staff and rooms, and look forward to welcoming you back to Oxford in the future.

Sally Muttitt
Oxford Cluster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The check in and general service in the Hotel were great - we were in the annex which smelled new! Good room and facilities - no complaints. However the service in the Beefeaterf next door was very poor. Waiting at the bar in mid afternoon, I was ignored twice by staff who wandered by doing things - no recognition of my prescence or indication if there was anyoine actually serving, Some more training needed. Also, the staff finishing their shift gather having a noisy drink in the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longwall, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Good evening, and thank you for your feedback.

The hotel team will enjoy reading your comments, and I am glad that you can still smell the newness of the refurbishment. However, I can only apologise for the service you received next door in the Bar. I have passed your review to the Restaurant Manager who will be dealing with the matter.

We hope to welcome you back to Oxford in the future.

Sally Muttitt
Oxford Cluster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Breakfast in Beefeater excellent; dinner in Beefeater dire. Perhaps it was because we went for the £22 meal deal and the choice from the dinner menu was very restricted. Only one choice for vegetarians - the mushroom risotto - which looked gross and tasted worse.The starter was rock hard (breaded mushrooms you couldn't get a fork through) and the pudding (apple crumble) cold, with a skin on the custard. The duty restaurant manager wasn't available to talk to us, hence this 'letting off steam' review...

Room Tip: I think the 'good night's sleep' moneyback guarantee offered by Premier Inn means that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longwall, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Good afternoon and thank you for your feedback. I am really sorry that your meal in the restaurant was poor, and that you were not able to resolve the problem with the Duty Manager that evening. Please can you contact me directly and I will arrange a refund for the Meal Deal. I have also passed your comments to the Restaurant Manager. I am glad though that you thought our breakfast excellent.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Sally Muttitt
Oxford Cluster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great base for visiting Oxford - Premier Inn is always dependable for a good place to stay and will do their utmost to sort out any problems asap. Be aware that there is a short walk to the bus-stop in order to get the bus into Oxford.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longwall, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Mark,

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is always lovely to hear that our guests have had an excellent stay, and we look forward to welcoming you again to Oxford.

Sally Muttitt
Oxford Cluster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,055 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
2.2 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,734 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Oxford Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Address: Garsington Road | Oxford Business Park, Oxford OX4 2JZ, England (Formerly Travel Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#9 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for both business and leisure guests. For business this hotel is next to Oxford business park and for shops and local amenities Oxford city centre is only 3 miles away. Our Oxford Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Beefeater restaurant serving freshly cooked chargrilled food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing