We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Oxford break.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal Oxford break.”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had an excellent stay at this hotel just after the Christmas break, ideal for a visit to Oxford. It is only a short walk into the centre, (via the park if you choose) or straight into the old town. We did all the tourist things, you can get a guided walk which takes you into the colleges and experience the Harry Potter and hogwart theme , plus a total insight into the academic life of the students past and present, or shop until you drop, there is also a lovely inside market if you like those. Great old world pubs with excellent food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    271
    153
    56
    33
See reviews for
120
319
43
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
redditch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed on a 3 night new year package. The hotel is positioned well within an easy 12 minute flat walk to the heart of Oxford and has free parking. There is also a bus stop outside if you want to hop on the bus.We asked for a quiet room as other reviews said that walls were thin - our room was quiet and we had no noise issues. The room was fine but decor a little dated it was very
clean and the bed comfy. The food was excellent and there is a nice bar area. Staff were helpful friendly and professional
Would recommend this hotel and the new year gala.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lp3741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

we had a fabulous stay for the new years eve the staff were friendly and could not do enough for us the gala dinner was one of the best we have had just a short walk into Oxford we were welcomed by the reception and made to feel special right from the word go we had a cream tea on new years eve afternoon excellent scones and tea we will definatly be going back again in the summer as it is ideal to visit the lovely city

Room Tip: our room was at the rear and ground floor very roomy and warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here mainly as a convenient stop for a Xmas party in Oxford.

Location is excellent and really served our purpose. Although we didn't stay in the hotel for much time, service was good and friendly, especially the night staff who were happy for us to have a nightcap at a very late hour ! The hotel is in a lovely building with character and plenty of free parking.

My only gripe was creaky floors above, which meant we were awoken too early by the people in the room above. When mentioned on my way out, I was told the hotel is being refurbished soon.

All in all a good place in a great location with efficient and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask about a room with no creaky floors above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teewas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Felt rather unwelcome on arrival and were just directed to the "bar". No service until we went to find someone despite having booked for afternoon tea. Slow service and bought the wrong drinks. Very good scones and very cheap. Unlikely to go back

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tayhacawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and i found our stay over the Christmas period at the Cotswold Lodge Hotel in Oxford was very enjoyable and we would recomend the hotel to anyone who was looking for relaxing break. The Christmas break was our second stay at the hotel as we had stayed for Three Nights, earlyer in the year, and as always we found the staff to be very polite, friendly, and professional and also offered a excellent service. The rooms we had over the two stays were very clean and tidy plus the food was excellent plenty of choice even if you are a vegetarian.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights in November. The first room was supposed to be double but was more like a single with a double bed. It a was impossible to move past one another without a bear hug each time and there was nowhere to put a case! The wardrobe looked "normal" but was just six inches deep. The walls and carpet were grubby. The heating was off at crucial times. They gave us another room when our son, visiting, complained on our behalf. It was certainly bigger but still grubby. The bathroom floor tiles were badly cracked and moved noisily under foot. The shower was a mere trickle and, consequently, it took ten minutes for the water to run hot. The "heated" towel rail was stone-cold.
Breakfast was ok apart from burnt bacon on the second morning.
There is a lovely lounge, though small. Unfortunately, it was booked for a function at the one time we wanted to use it for afternoon tea.
We found the staff very good, courteous and helpful
This is nowhere near a four-star hotel as one would normally understand the term. No doubt they get away with it because it's Oxford. Its one advantage is its proximity to the town centre; a ten to fifteen minute walk or a short bus ride.

Room Tip: Can't help here but do NOT expect Premier Inn quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fliss67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,739 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Property: Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Address: 66A Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Lodge is an independent 4-star hotel located in a conservation area within walking distance from Oxford’s historic city centre. Visitors are assured of a warm welcome and a highly professional level of service, whether they are popping in for a coffee, meeting someone for lunch, staying at the hotel or hosting an event. The elegant Victorian building combines period features such as bay windows, high ceilings and open fireplaces with all the facilities required by today’s business and leisure travellers, including secure wireless broadband internet access. All our guest rooms offer a good level of comfort and privacy. Our ten feature rooms are named after Oxford colleges and retain the distinctive architectural features of the original building. Restaurant 66 has a modern, fresh design and an acclaimed menu. We also have a welcoming bar, charming terraces, a spacious drawing room and a Mediterranean-style courtyard garden. The Norham Suite is the ideal venue for business meetings, private dining functions and special events such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Cotswold Lodge is one of the few hotels in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for residents – and we are just 10 minutes’ walk or a short bus ride from the city centre, visit our image gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Cotswold Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing